Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

WMS 530/ANT 530: Women, Culture, and Globalization: Home

This is a research guide for Dr. Kathleen Skoczen's graduate seminar, Spring 2016.

Textbooks

Locating Books

To locate books, use the library catalog, Consuls. You can search all the CSU libraries, or you can limit to just Southern. If you want to request a book from one of the other CSU libraries, find the record for the book in Consuls and then click "Request". You will be asked to enter you MySCSU login. The book should arrive in 3-5 working days.

Locating Journal Articles

We have many article databases that will be relevant to research on women and globalization. 

The Ebsco databases include the following. 

  • Academic Search Premiere 
  • America: History and Life
  • Business Source Premiere 
  • CINAHL Plus (Health) 
  • EconLit
  • Education Research Complete 
  • Environment Complete 
  • GreenFile (environment, environmental justice, sustainability) 
  • Historical Abstracts (World history other than the US and Canada)  
  • Humanities International Complete
  • International Political Science Abstracts 
  • Medline, Newswires (international news) 
  • Newspaper Source Plus 
  • SocIndex with Fulltext (sociology) 
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • Urban Studies Abstracts

More databases: 

JSTOR - Use the Advanced Search to select the specific disciplines you want to search: Feminist and Women's Studies plus applicable regional/subject disciplines (Latin American Studies or Anthropology, for example). 

Genderwatch - Covers women's issues in a variety of sources includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

Reference Books

Reference Books:

Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures ONLINE

Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia ONLINE

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History ONLINE