Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

ANT 101 - Cultural Anthropology: Home

This is the guide to library resources for Dr. Kathleen Skozcen's ANT 101 - Cultural Anthropology class.

Books and Journal Articles

To find books, use our library catalog, SouthernSearch. To view only books, click on "Advanced Search" and choose "Books" under the Material Type option. 

Anthrosource
Fulltext journals from the American Anthropological Association. 

JSTOR
Fulltext articles in anthropology, archaeology, African studies, Asian studies, evolutionary biology, folklore, Latin American studies, linguistics, Middle East studies, and more.

SocIndex has lots of anthropology journals. If you are searching for medical anthropology, click "Choose Databases" from inside SocIndex and add CINAHL and Medline. 

Reference Books on World Cultures

Australian People: An Encyclopedia
REF DU 120 .A718 2001

Countries and Their Cultures 
REF GN 307 .C68 2001

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa ONLINE

Encyclopedia of African Peoples 
REF DT 15 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues TodayONLINE

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History ONLINE

Handbook of North American Indians 
REF E 77 .H25 

Muslim Cultures Today 
REF DS 35.62 .M88 2006

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life 
REF GN 333 .W67 1988

Reference Books on Anthropology

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
REF GN 11 .E63 2006

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
REF GN 307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
REF GT 2850 .E53 2003
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ONLINE

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
REF GR 35 .G75 2006

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ONLINE

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture ONLINE

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
ONLINE