Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Black History Month Resources: Home

Just a few of the resources available at the library on African and African American history and culture.

Online Encyclopedias for Black History Month

Encyclopedias are valuable sources of background information. The Library has hundreds of subject encyclopedias providing scholarly information (written by and for scholars in the field) on thousands of topics. Here are a few of our online encyclopedias on African and African-American history and culture.

African American Studies Center

 

 

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The core content includes: Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, Second Edition, African American National Biography. In addition to the full-text of these works, the Center draws on other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, the Oxford Companion to Black British History, and selected articles from other major reference titles. Over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts.

African American Newspapers

Accessible Archives is a historical newspaper project. One of the collections is African American Newspapers. African American Newspapers covers a wide range of papers published by and for African Americans in the 1800's.

Subject Guide

Reference  Librarian's picture
Reference Librarian

You may also contact individual librarians via the One-on-one Instruction Request form.

Contact:
Reference Desk
1st Floor, Buley Library
203-392-5732
eref@southernct.edu
txt: (203) 490-0756