This is the "Home" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Book Reviews 

Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.southernct.edu/bookreviews  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Table of Contents

Abstracts and Indexes

 

Bibliographies/Guides

 

Databases

 

Web Resources

 

Subject Specific Resources

 

 
 

What is a book review?

A book review is a critical analysis of a book that is usually published in a periodical. Reviews are written by a critic or journalist and reflect the personal opinions of the reviewer. Book reviews generally provide comments on the book's style, content, appeal and significance. They are written as soon as a book is published and serve as a great, evaluative tool. Reviews can vary in length from a short paragraph to an essay.

     

 

How to Find Book Reviews

Book reviews can be located using print or online resources. Print indexes/abstracts are published annually and are located on the ground floor of the library. To locate reviews using a print index or abstract, you should know the book's title, author, and date of publication. Look up the volume that corresponds to the year the book was published. On occasion, it may be necessary to check volumes that appear a year or two after the book was published as there could be a time lag between the publication of the book and the publication of the review. A print index provides only the citation, not the review. Find the citation to the review by using the author/title index. An abstract will provide a summary of the review. To access the full review, check Journal Locator on the library home page to determine if we subscribe to the periodical in which the review appears. If the library does not have the periodical you can request the article through interlibrary loan. In addition to print indexes, book reviews can be located using bibliographies and guides, databases, and web sites. The databases appear in alphabetical order on the database page. This guide lists general book review resources that can be used for finding book reviews in all subject disciplines followed by a subject specific section that lists print and online resources for each major discipline.

 

Literature Librarian

Profile ImageWinnie Shyam
Contact Info:
Buley Library, Room 122G
Southern Connecticut State University
New Haven, CT 06515
Phone: (203) 392-5762
Send Email

Subjects:
English and American Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait