If you see a security certificate error when accessing databases from off-campus, it's OK to click through.
NOTICE!!! iCONN-supplied Gale databases will no longer be available after Sunday June 30, 2013!!! The Ebsco replacements are marked with NEW and iCONN labels.
Gale Cengage databases currently supplied through iCONN will be replaced by Ebsco databases beginning July 1. Here are lists of what's coming and going.
This authoritative resource on Islam encompasses over 5,000 reference entries, chapters from scholarly works and introductory works, Quranic materials, primary sources, images, and maps. One year only, now expired (April, 2014).
Medline is now MEDLINE with Full Text.
Due to budget cut backs the library has had to discontinue several electronic resources.
You can now search Dissertations & Theses from SCSU.
OCLC discontinued access to the following databases: Article1st, Business & Industry, Business Management Practices Dissertation Abstracts International, GEOBASE, GPO Monthly, Papers1st, Proceedings, and World Almanac.
Buley Library Digital Collections include digital objects from the library's special collections and items from other partnerships. Current contents include the David C. Libbey Postcard Collection. In 1990, Emeritus Professor David C. Libbey donated over 1,400 library-related postcards to Buley Library. The subjects include books, printing and most especially, libraries. In the latter category, the New England area is particularly well represented.
ABI/Inform Complete allows simultaneous searching of ABI/Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry.
Gale Directory Library, including the Encyclopedia of Associations, is now available.
Proquest Biological Science Collection upgrades our current CSA Biological Sciences/Life Sciences subscription to include full-text to many articles. Try it now on the new platform. The current version of CSA Biological Sciences/Life Sciences will end Dec. 31st.
If you are ON CAMPUS and having trouble using the databases, try these "Unproxied" databases links.
If you are OFF CAMPUS:
1) Log in to https://remote.southernct.edu/ (campus network/MySCSU/Blackboard login)
2) In the box on the upper right, type http://library.southernct.edu and click Browse.
OPTIONAL: You can also click the + symbol to the right of Web Bookmarks, and add a direct link to the library.
3) Generally, when there is a problem, a link to this page will be placed on the library homepage. (This page is also available under Help.) Click through and follow the instructions for ON CAMPUS access.
Note: Viewing will likely be slow, and some links may not work at all, due to the restrictions of the Remote service.
If the power goes out on campus, the Remote server may also go down.
If databases are unavailable off-campus, you might be able to access some resources through iCONN. Go directly to http://www.iconn.org If you have a public library card from anywhere in Connecticut, you can enter your bar code. If you don't have a public library card, use the "Don't have a barcode? Try this!" button.