SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Communication Disorders: Journal Articles

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar with SCSU Login This link opens in a new window
Not all materials listed in Google Scholar are freely available, but if you access from on campus, use this A to Z Listing, or search with the Google Shcolar search box on the library home page, Google Scholar recognizes your location/SCSU login and automatically shows you the link to the library materials beneath each search entry. Clicking "Getit@Southern" or "SCSU Journal Finder" will show you whether you can access your Google Scholar search result through the library.

science, technology, arts, humanities, literature, history, psychology, education, social sciences, political science, medicine, nursing, biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, geology, geography, physics
Get automatic links to library subscription content by logging in.

Suggested Databases

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
AIDS Algology Amino acids Animal behavior Aquaculture Aquatic organisms Bacteriology Bioengineering Biological membranes Biotechnology agricultural medical environmental marine pharmaceutical Calcified tissue Calcium Chemoreception Conference Papers Ecology Entomology Genetics plant Human genome research Immunology Marine biology Microbiology Molecular Mycology Neurosciences Nucleic acids Oncogenes growth factors Peptides Proteins Protozoology Safety science Toxicology Virology Zoology botany medicine
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
life sciences medicine biology Bioinformatics Genomics Cancer Diabetes Endocrinology Gastroenterology Global Health Influenza Medical Imaging Microarrays Microbiology Infectious Diseases Neuroscience, Neurology Psychiatry Nursing Health Care Nutrition Outbreak Prevention Control Respiratory RNAi Stem Cells Surgery Systems Biology
over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, allied health, peer reviewed, research, nurse, school health
CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
communication disorders speech-language pathology, audiology Augmentative Alternative Communication AAC Electroneuronography ENoG Hearing assessment impairment science Pediatric audiology Rehabilitative Speech articulation
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, and other materials in the fields of communication disorders, speech-language pathology, audiology. No full text--use FindArticle@SCSU links to access full-text articles when available.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
communication mass media television tv film video audio music journalism customer satisfaction consumer behavior customers marketing
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides indexing, abstracts and many full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in communication, journalism, mass media, and related disciplines (e.g. media studies, communication disorders). It can be cross-searched with other Ebsco databases.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
education leader student learn class lesson teach disable special exercise counsel school college university curriculum train practice sports computer internet teenage school abuse adolescence
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Inexing, abstracting, and full-text content from journals, books, and conference papers.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
education leader student learn class lesson teach disable special exercise counsel school college university curriculum train practice sports computer internet teenage school abuse adolescence health
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources on all levels of education and all aspects of the field. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
linguistics language sciences journal articles books book chapters dissertations Anthropological linguistics hearing and speech physiology interpersonal behavior and communication learning disabilities nonverbal communication psychometrics sociolinguistics special education
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Topics include: Anthropological linguistics, hearing and speech physiology, interpersonal behavior and communication, learning disabilities, nonverbal communication, psychometrics, sociolinguistics, special education and more.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
medicine nursing dentistry veterinary health care system pre-clinical sciences Allergy and Immunology Anesthesiology Cardiovascular Dermatology Gastroenterology Gynecology Obstetrics Internal Neurology Oncology Ophthalmology Otorhinolaryngology Pathology Pediatrics Pharmacy materia medica Psychiatry Sports Medicine Surgery Therapeutics Urology Nursing Public Health administration management insurance policy/Pubmed
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Use instead of PubMed.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association APA psychology behavioral educational medical psychosocial social work sociology sociological nursing mental health job performance employee attitudes personnel human resource management working conditions job satisfaction consumer attitudes consumer behavior employee retention leadership social responsibility
From the American Psychological Association (APA). Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 140,000 articles from over 60 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association APA psychology behavioral educational medical psychosocial social work sociology sociological nursing mental health job performance employee attitudes personnel human resource management working conditions job satisfaction consumer attitudes consumer behavior employee retention leadership social responsibility
American Psychological Association۪s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.

PubMed

SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
sociology sociological abortion criminology criminal justice demography ethnic racial studies gender marriage family political religion rural urban social development psychology structure social work socio-cultural anthropology research theory substance abuse addictions violence
Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Visible Body Web Suite (Includes Anatomy & Physiology, Human Anatomy Atlas, and Physiology Animations) This link opens in a new window
Includes Anatomy & Physiology, Human Anatomy Atlas, and Physiology Animations

Click "more" for instructions on creating an account.
To set up your Web Suite account while on campus and connected to your institution’s network:
1. Navigate to https://websuite.visiblebody.com
2. From there, enter the following information to create your account:
o Enter your email address and confirm it.
o Create a password and confirm it.
o Add your name.
3. After creating your account you are brought to the Web Suite homepage and can begin using the product.
Note: If you see a purchase page do not enter payment information. Check that you are connected to your institution's network or try signing in through the proxy.
4. After you sign up, log into your Web Suite account from anywhere by returning to https://websuite.visiblebody.com
Every 150 days you will be required to sign in while connected to your institution's network or using the proxy to maintain access.

To set up your Web Suite account while off-campus or not connected to the institution’s network:
1. There are two ways this typically occurs:
o Some users will first log in to the institution's portal, then navigate to the institution’s resource section, and locate Visible Body Web Suite.
o Other users will navigate to the institution’s resource section, then locate and select Visible Body Web Suite, and finally log in to the institution’s Portal.
o Either option, once on the Visible Body Web Suite page, select “sign up”.
2. From there, enter the following information to create your account:
o Enter your email address and confirm it.
o Create a password and confirm it.
o Add your name.
3. After creating your account you are brought to the Web Suite homepage and can begin using the product.
Note: If you see a purchase page do not enter payment information. Contact support.
4. After you sign up, log into your Web Suite account from anywhere by returning to https://websuite.visiblebody.com
Every 150 days you will be required to sign in while connected to your institution's network or using the proxy to maintain access.

For more information on navigating Visible Body Web Suite, visit this site: https://www.visiblebody.com/course/scsu.

Peer-Reviewed Sources

To ensure you are using peer-reviewed material:

Limit a database to peer reviewed, scholarly journals, or refereed journals before beginning a search, or apply it as a limiter when you get the results of your search. You can do this in Southernsearch, any Ebsco database, and most Proquest databases.
Check Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
Check the submission guidelines at the journal’s official website.

See this guide for more information

Requesting Articles

If you find an article in Google Scholar that you can't access, you can email me the COMPLETE CITATION.

It is vital that you send the COMPLETE CITATION.

I will recheck access and if the article isn't available through Buley, I'll either request it for you (it's free for you!) or direct you to our fantastic Interlibrary Loan service.

Where Are Print Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor

IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Most of the readers are also printers. Ask for assistance in the Technical Services area.