Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Library and Information Science: Finding Books

This research guide will provide you with selected library science resources available in Buley Library

How To Find Books

SouthernSearch is the shared online library catalog for all 17 of the CSCU libraries – SCSU, CCSU, ECSU, WCSU, and the Community Colleges, as well as the Connecticut State Library in Hartford and Charter Oak State College. SouthernSearch will show you what is owned by each library, where it is located in the building, the call number of the book, and whether it is available on the shelf or already checked out. 

You can search using keywords, author names, book titles, material type, or any other information you have. Once you have a list of results, use the facets on the left to tweak them. If you want to see only books available at Buley Library, choose "Available at SCSU" under "Show Only."

The two major book locations in Buley Library are the Main Circulating Collection and the Reference Collection.

Circulating Books – Buley Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System; each call number begins with a letter that designates a major subject area. Our juvenile fiction collection uses the Dewey Classification System.The call number serves as a specific address for where the book belongs on the shelf. The call number also groups books together by subject. When you find your book on the shelf, notice that there may be others located near it that relate to the same topic. Circulating books for can be checked out for 28 days for undergraduate students, with the option to renew twice. Circulating books for faculty, staff, and graduate students can be checked out for an entire semester. All library material is subject to recall.

Reference Books - Excellent background information can be found in reference books such as subject encyclopedias. Subject encyclopedias help define a topic, provide a timeline of events, identify people associated with the topic, and supply good keywords to use later when searching for books or articles. These books do not circulate, but you are free to use them within the building, and to make photocopies.

You can find subject encyclopedias in the Reference Collection by using a Keyword search in SouthernSearch.

Type in “encyclopedia” followed by your general topic.

  Examples:

encyclopedia and library science

encyclopedia and censorship 

How to Request Books Not Owned by Buley

 

Interlibrary Loans (ILL)

Interlibrary loan services are available for SCSU students, staff, and faculty who need to find books not found at Buley Library or in the Connecticut State University Library System. Interlibrary loan is not available for library patrons with special borrowing privileges.

Materials requested through interlibrary loan are searched through OCLC, a national automated interlibrary loan system. Most of the time requests can be located from Connecticut or New England libraries and will be shipped within 5-10 business days. Books coming from other states may take up to two weeks or longer to arrive. Our loan department will process these requests and place at the Circulation Desk for pickup.

Interlibrary loan forms are only available online. When filing out the online request form, make sure that you're using the proper form. The Interlibrary loan department will process only five requests per patron, per day during the busy periods.

Renewals of Interlibrary Loan Books

If you need additional time for the ILL material that you have checked out , please contact Beth Paris at (203) 392-7038. The library will be contacted to see if they allow for renewals.

Overdue Fines of Interlibrary Loan Books

Library patrons will be held responsible for any lost or damaged material. You will be responsible for any overdue fines charged by the lending library.

E-book packages

Search more than one book at a time in an e-book package. SCSU login required off campus.

Individual subscribed e-books

Other Catalogs

There may be times when you need to search beyond the walls of Buley Library to complete your research. Books not owned by Buley or another CSCU Library can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. For additional resources, try searching the sources listed below.