Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Library and Information Science: Finding Articles

This research guide will provide you with selected library science resources available in Buley Library

How to Find Journal Articles

Finding Articles:

To search for scholarly articles within journals, you have several options. You can go to the Buley Library home page and use SouthernSearch the same way you would search for books, but use the facets on the left to tweak the results to show only articles. You can also go to the EBSCO Articles tab and either perform a Quick Article Search in the search box or use the pull-down menu to see Databases by Subject. This last option takes you to a list of all the databases subscribed to by Buley Library in that subject, including databases that provide full text journal articles and newspaper articles. Finally, if you already know which database you want to use, you can look for it under the list of Popular Databases on the left hand side of the home page. Listed below are suggested databases to use for doing research in the field of library and information science.

Other Databases

Other databases that might be useful:

Peer Review in 5 Minutes

Peer review is a process by which scholarly work or research (often articles) are subjected to evaluation by other experts on the topic. Reviewers judge the work by its originality, accuracy of information, importance to the field, research methodology, and other criteria to determine if it is worthy of publication.

How to Find Journals Not Available at Southern

Interlibrary Loans (ILL)

Interlibrary loan services are available for SCSU students, staff, and faculty who need to find journal articles not found at Buley Library or available in full-text. Interlibrary loan is not available for library patrons with special borrowing privileges.

Materials requested through interlibrary loan are searched through OCLC, a national automated interlibrary loan system. Most of the time requests can be located from Connecticut or New England libraries and will be sent electronically or by mail to you.

Interlibrary loan forms are only available online. When filing out the online request form, make sure that you're using the proper form and check the journal finder to determine if the library has an electronic version of the article(s) needed. The Interlibrary loan department will process only five requests per patron, per day during the busy periods.

Finding a Known Article: Using the Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder (under the "Find a Journal" tab on the library home page) if you are trying to locate an article for which you have a citation and know where the article was published. Search for the journal title to find out if the publication is available in print or in which database. If you need help, just ask a librarian!