SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Journalism: Statistics

Finding and Using Statistics

Properly used, statistics can add weight and interest to your news story. It is important, however, to find current and accurate sources. Before trusting the numbers you find be sure that they:

are from a credible source,
were properly collected and clearly reported,
are relevant to the time period in question.

Check the Fact-Checking tab for more.

Use the library's catalog, S outhernSearch, or any of the databases or websites below to find resources containing statistics.

Use keywords for your topic plus "statistics" to narrow your search. For example, traffic and statistics or education and statistics. If you know the agency that produces the statistics, such as the Connecticut Department of Public Health, add that to your search as well..

For even more suggestions of where to find statistics, please see the Datasets Research Guide.

Statista This link opens in a new window
"Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries". The focus is on marketing but other topics are covered.
CenStats This link opens in a new window
Home page of the United States Census Bureau with access to all the statistics on population, income, racial diversity, etc. gathered by the government.
Home page of the United States Census Bureau with access to all the statistics on population, income, racial diversity, etc. gathered by the government.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
1923 - January 31, 2013. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online delivers a comprehensive suite of financial information, providing access to one of the most complete historical financial databases ever assembled with just a few mouse clicks.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

American Consumer Satisfaction Index
"The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is a national indicator of the quality of economic output for goods and services as experienced by consumers of that output....The Index currently tracks customer satisfaction with more than 400 of the largest corporations in the U.S. marketplace."
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics concerning Consumer Price Index, Unemployment, Productivity, Inflation, and more. Includes Occupational Outlook Handbook.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
City Data
"By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find the data you're looking for on City-Data.com."
Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
Market data for Connecticut.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
"Crime Data Explorer, an online interactive data tool, is the digital front door of the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program. Law enforcement and the public can use CDE to easily access, view, and understand the massive amounts of UCR data collected and published by the FBI UCR Program."
International Database
"The Census Bureau is the U.S. government’s source of population estimates and projections (E&Ps) for over 200 countries and areas of the world to the year 2100. We have produced these data since the 1960s, and we have published our results in the International Database (IDB) since 1996. These data are provided freely online to inform U.S. government programs and as an educational resource. The IDB is widely used in K-12 and higher education, for research, in journalism, and by businesses."
National Center for Health Statistics
FastStats covers Diseases and Conditions,, Infectious/Immune, Family Life, Health Care and Insurance, Disability and Risk Factors, Injuries, Life Stages and Populations, and Reproductive Health.
Nation Master
"Find Market Sizing and Trends on any sector, in any country."
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
USA.gov
"Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census."