Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Google Scholar Guide: Setting Preferences for Library Full Text

Search tips, setting up access to our full text resources, and using GS as a "federated" search for some of our databases.

Google Scholar and the Library Databases

Not all materials listed in Google Scholar are freely available. Few books will be entirely online, for instance. In many cases, especially with journal articles, when you click on a title in your search results, you will only see an abstract of the article, and be asked to pay to see the entire article. However, Google Scholar also allows you to hook into our library subscriptions.

If you are on campus, Google Scholar recognizes your location and automatically shows you the link to the library materials.

If you are off campus, there are two ways of seeing links to library subscriptions:

  1. Use a link that goes through our database login: SCSU Login to Google Scholar
  2. Setting Scholar Preferences

Full Text Library Set Up in Google Scholar

You can set Google Scholar to recognize which school you are from.

  1. Click on Settings in the upper right to access Scholar Settings. You can also access this from the Settings link (the gear icon) on any results page.
       
  2. On this page you can set the default collection, if results open in a new window, and if you want to use a citation manager like Endnote Web. To set library access, choose Library Links.


     
  3. Search for Southern Connecticut. The most important one to add is 'Southern Connecticut State University--SCSU Journal Finder'. You can also search for and add other libraries if you have access to somewhere else.
  4. Click the Save button   at the top or bottom of the screen.
  5. Once you have the library links set and you do a search, you will see links to SCSU Journal Finder, which work like the Find Article @ SCSU links in our databases.

Be sure to check the main title link, which leads to the "official version", any other links, which often lead to freely accessible versions of the articles, AND the SCSU Journal Finder link, which will check if the article is accessible in our databases. 

Chrome Google Scholar Button