Reference Books:
American Psychiatric Association, Task Force for the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. (2008). Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association. Ref. RC 473. P78 A46 2008
Fischer, J. (Ed.). (2000). Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook. New York: Maxwell Macmillan International. Ref. BF 176. C66 2000
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. (1940-present). Mental Measurements Yearbook. Lincoln, NE.: University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Ref. BF 698.5 .B 86
Keyser, D. J., & Sweetland, R. C. (Eds.). (1984-1994). Test Critiques. Kansas City, Mo.: Test Corporation of America. Ref. BF 176. T419
Maddox, T. (2008). Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business (4th ed.). Austin, TX.: Pro-Ed. Ref. BF 176.T43 2008
Goldman, B. A., & Mitchell, D. F. (2007). Directory of Unpublished Experimental Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 431. 625 2007
Jamison, M. (2001). Title Index for the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures: Volumes 1-7. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries. Ref. BF 431 .J29 2001
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. (1940-2011). Tests in Print VI. Lincoln, NE.: University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Ref. BF 698. 5B878 2011
Internet Sites:
Buros Institue of Mental Measurements - Publishers of The Mental Measurements Yearbook and Test Critiques. The institute provides brief descriptions and contact information for tests. The test review locator searches the yearbooks and test critiques providing the volume where reviews may be found.
ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation - This site provides balanced information concerning educational assessment with links to the best full-text books, reports, journal articles, newsletter articles and papers on the internet that address educational measurement, evaluation and learning theory. It also includes links to the ERIC Digests and a comprehensive listing of e-journals.
ETS - ETS develops, administers and scores more than 50 million tests annually — including the TOEFL® and TOEIC® tests, the GRE® General and Subject Tests and The Praxis Series™ assessments — in more than 180 countries, at more than 9,000 locations worldwide.
ETS Tests - The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world. The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests - The APA has written an excellent subject guide on psychological tests and measures (published and unpublished) including frequently asked questions complied by the American Psychological Association. Contents contains the following: finding information on a particular test, finding a particular type of test, locating a specific test, locating test publishers, purchasing tests, test references, available software and scoring services, and additional information on the proper use of tests.
Finding Psychological and Educational Testing Instruments - Finding psychological and educational tests instruments can make anyone "testy"! This site is a great resource for finding published and unpublished tests
Psych Web! - This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.
Scholarly Psychology Resources on the Web - This page offers links to scholarly information about various topics in psychology. In addition to this page, Psych Web maintains lists of psychology departments on the web,self-help
sites on the web, and psychological brochures on the web.
Testing and Assessment - This page provides links to the following: Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing, Testing Governance in APA, JCTP (Joint Committee on Testing Practices) Website, Appropriate Use of High-Stakes Testing in our Nation’s Schools, Rights and Responsibilities of Test Takers: Guidelines and Expectations, Testing Information Clearinghouse, and Other Testing Web Sites.
Tests and Measurements Searching in PsycInfo database - Although the specifics of searching the Tests and Measures field depend on what platform the database is delivered on, there are some general tips and tricks.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences - A great source for locating the texts of tests that have been published in a variety of books.This is an online index compiled by a librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington. Once you find where a test has been published, you must check CONSULs to see whether Buley or another CSU campus owns that book. If Buley doesn't own it, we can get it for you through interlibrary loan.
Finding Tests in SouthernSearch
A partial listing of useful subject headings, if you choose to use the “subject” option in SouthernSearch:
