Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

LGBTQ Resources at Buley: DVDs, VHS and Streaming Video

A research/resource guide that highlights library material related to LGBTQ issues and literature

These are yours to borrow!

DVDs and VCR tapes (remember them?!) can be borrowed from Buley for personal viewing or to show at a class or club event. 

Click here to see the list that is generated using the "advanced search" with scope = Southern, format = audiovisual, and keywords below are used (where an asterisk is used to indicate the root with any other letters).

"any field" contains Gay

or "any field" contains Lesbian*

or "any field" contains Homosexual*

or "any field" contains Transsexual*

Check out the highlighted list of titles to the right

These are yours to stream!

The Kanopy streaming video collection includes hundreds of films related to LGBT issues  such as activism, history, health, religion, families, youth, rights, art, therapy....

These films are available to stream for personal viewing on a media device or presenting to audiences as programs or assignments.  On campus access is seamless; off campus requires SCSU log-in credentials.

Use "LGBT" in the search box to get started...use other keywords to refine your search.

Collection Highlights

Here are a FEW dvds that address various lgbtq topics--some are documentaries, some are feature films.  I almost hate to list specific titles because there are so many more available than what I have chosen here.  So just think of this as a starting place.  If there is nothing on this list for you, use the catalog "advanced search" page to plug in words and phrases that describe the movie you are interested in.  

 

After Stonewall: from the riots to the millenium catalog summary: In 1969 the police raided the Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York City's Greenwich Village, leading to three nights of rioting by the city's gay community. With this outpouring of courage and unity the Gay Liberation Movement had begun. Chronicles the history of lesbian and gay life from the riots at Stonewall to the end of the century. Captures the hard work, struggles, tragic defeats and exciting victories experienced since then. It explores how AIDS literally changed the direction of the movement

Aimee and Jaguar Catalog summary: Its the Battle of Berlin, during World War 2, two women find each other. One is single, Aimée, the other, Jaguar, is unhappily married with 4 children. In war torn Germany it was not safe to be Jewish, it was just as unsafe to be a lesbian. When Jaguar's husband, who is a German soldier, finds out about the relationship of his wife to Aimée, nothing but trouble becomes the result

But Words Do Hurt: stories from glbtt youth  Catalog summaryIn this video, you will meet young people who identify as GLBTT. They talk about identity issues, the media, coming out, their family, their experiences in school and their hopes for the future. Some of the biggest obstacles they face include discrimination and name-calling. These young people share their personal stories with the hope that their experiences will foster a greater understanding of the issues faced by GLBTT youth. Professionals who work with GLBTT youth, including a psychologist, a human rights lawyer, a teacher and a hate crimes police officer also talk about some of the issues faced by these youth. 

Fish Out of Water catalog summary: Director Dickens explores the contentious issue of faith, homosexuality and same-sex marriage  (DVD and streaming availability).

For the Bible Tells Me So   catalog summary: This film brilliantly reconciles homosexuality and Biblical scripture, and reveals that religious anti-gay bias is based almost solely upon a misinterpretation of the Bible. Through the experiences of five very normal, Christian, American familes - including those of former House Majority Leader Richard Gephardt and Episcopal Bishop Gene Robinson - discover how people of faith handle the realization of having a gay child or family member (DVD and streaming availability)

Milk catalog summary: His life changed history, his courage changed lives. Harvey Milk is a middle-aged New Yorker who, after moving to San Francisco, becomes a Gay Rights activist and city politician. On his third attempt, he is elected to San Francisco's Board of Supervisors in 1977, the first openly-gay man to be elected to public office in the United States. The following year, both he and the city's mayor, George Moscone, are shot to death by former city supervisor, Dan White, who blames his former colleagues for denying White's attempt to rescind his resignation from the board. Based on the true story of Harvey Milk

Saving Face  catalog summaryWilhelmina is a Chinese-American lesbian and a young surgeon who has kept her sexual orientation secret from her conservative Chinese community in New York. But when her widowed mother becomes pregnant and is kicked out by her own parents, Wil suddenly has to juggle her mother's secrets with her own

Straightlaced [videorecording] : how gender's got us all tied up catalog summary: Meet 50 incredibly diverse students who take us on a powerful, intimate journey to see how popular pressures around gender and sexuality are shaping the lives of today's American teens ... Demonstrates how gender-based expectations are deeply intertwined with homophobia, and also are impacted by race, ethnicity and class. From girls confronting popular messages about culture and body image, to boys who are sexually active just to prove they aren't gay, STRAIGHTLACED reveals the toll that deeply-held stereotypes and rigid gender policing have on all of our lives, and offers both teens and adults a way out of anxiety, fear, and violence. (DVD and streaming availability)

Ugly Ducklings catalog summary: Explores the realties of harassment, bullying and homophobia and its devastating effects on today's lesbian and gay youth. Inspired by the award-winning play of the same name, 'Ugly Ducklings' captures the behind-the-scenes conversations with the play's fourteen female actors as they become the characters in the play and come to terms with their own biased behavior. Woven together are the voices of sexual minority youth and experts on youth development all with a common goal of uniting families, schools and community members around creating safer environments for all youth. Filmed in Maine the documentary promotes awareness, understanding and advocacy and supports a call for change in behaviors and policies regarding LGBTQ youth.

Why thee wed? catalog summary: Presents interviews with same-sex married couples who share their views on marriage, religious and political opposition, child adoption, and love. Also includes interviews with their families, the lawyer who represented them, and gay rights activist Jane Rule--who takes issue with the institution of marriage

 

 

Subject Guide

Cindy Schofield's picture
Cindy Schofield
Contact:
Buley Library, Technical Services (ground floor)

203 392-5778