Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

LGBTQ Resources at Buley: Digital Collections

A research/resource guide that highlights library material related to LGBTQ issues and literature

Description

Often times libraries receive full or partial runs of periodicals and other print resources, via gift or purchase.  If the library determines that the collection may be of interest to people beyond their own walls they may choose to digitize the resources and make them freely available to readers and scholars around the globe.  Some digitized collections from various libraries that are relevant to gender studies and LGBTQ issues are listed below.  Some of the resources below include media elements in addition to print components

Periodicals & Journals

Kaleidoscope Newspaper  (description is from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee website) Kaleidoscope was an underground newspaper founded by editor John Kois, radio disk jockey Bob Reitman, and designer and musician John Sahli. It was published in Milwaukee from October 6, 1967 to November 11, 1971 with a total of 105 biweekly issues. From an alternative and radical-liberal perspective, Kaleidoscope addressed and critiqued the social, political, and cultural issues of its day, including American politics, police actions, civil rights, gender issues, sexuality, activist activities, and contemporary art, music, and literature. Attempts to censor the publication were a challenge from the very first issue, and one case, Kois v. Wisconsin, even went to the Supreme Court of the United States in 1972 (after the newspaper had folded). Earlier, editor and publisher John Kois had been convicted of obscenity, but the Court ruled in the newspaper's favor stating that the publication of two photos and a poem entitled "Sex Poem" in an article about censorship did not constitute obscenity. In a concurring statement Justice William O. Douglas wrote that "the vague umbrella of obscenity laws was used in an attempt to run a radical newspaper out of business . . . . If obscenity laws continue in this uneven and uncertain enforcement, then the vehicle has been found for the suppression of any unpopular tract."

Document Collections

The Gay People's Union Collection (description is from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee website) The Gay Peoples Union (GPU) was the most important gay and lesbian rights organization in Milwaukee during the 1970s. Beginning as a student organization at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, the group gradually became a resource for the entire Milwaukee community. Taking distance from the radical politics of the New Left, GPU adopted a politically moderate approach to social change, emphasizing education and legal reform. It actively embraced mainstream and alternative media outlets in order to educate the general public about homosexuality. GPU also took a leadership role in building an infrastructure for the emerging local gay and lesbian community. It established Milwaukee’s first gay and lesbian community center, operated a telephone counseling service and a venereal disease examination center, and organized a legal defense committee to assist gays and lesbians with paying for legal representation. The organization faded in importance by the early 1980s, although it continues to exist today. The collection includes Gay Peoples Union RecordsGPU News and the Eldon Murray Papers

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives  a digitized subset of the the ONE archives. The oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the lARgest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world.  Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photoographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of tis material  has been digitized and is available online.