Public Policy in Public Health and Social Work: Online Resources - Reports and Statistics

Reports and statistical fact sheets. Click the "Statistics and Research" link on the left for specific topics.

A new initiative on health equity.

Statistics at the state level. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Watch Connecticut policy discussions in excruciating detail.

NAMI-CT focuses on public policy in Connecticut for people with severe mental illness. Lists their legislative priorities each year.

Information on developments in Connecticut health care issues. Produces "CT Health Notes," a weekly email newsletter on health policy issues in Connecticut.

Listing of current bills pertaining to air quality and lung health.

Data and reports on prison population, releases, and recidivism.

Reports and policy briefs on the health of Connecticut residents.

CCSU's Institute for Regional and Municipal Policy has some excellent resources on local policy. Initiatives cover drug policy, children of incarcerated parents, diversity in the judicial system, and prisoner reentry.

A report by the Institute for Women's Policy Research

From the Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Library

Online news coverage of Connecticut, including health and human services.

Statewide news.

Local online news source.

Data on the Greater New Haven and Valley areas

Search or browse Connecticut state laws pertaining to child welfare.

Search for data and state policy information on Connecticut.

From the US Health and Human Services agency.

The PCSW is a nonpartisan branch of the CT General Assembly. The site contains information on legislative activity pertaining to women and families. Also contains reports and data on economic security, health, inequality, and more.

Customizable data viewer. Provides national and state level data on demographics, maltreatment, foster care, and moer.

Describes current laws. Also see the newsletter for policy briefs and proposed changes to laws.

Click on "Health" to see all health-related bills.

Health information for rural areas of Connecticut.

Housing data for Connecticut cities and towns.

Research and reports on issues relevant to older Americans.

Position statements on health and pension reform

Research, statistics, and policy administration

Research and reports on many aspects of health policy, including health care reform, Medicaid, Medicare, minority health issues, women's health, and US global health policy.

National public policy activities from the American Lung Association.

Lets you track federal and state legislation on mental health issues.

Data and statistics from the Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health.

Reports and data on mental health and substance abuse. Results of the 2010 National Survey on Drug Use and Health and more.

Links to current federal health regulations and proposed rules.

Data and research on Medicaid and Medicare usage, funding, initiatives, and more.

Resources on poverty, inequality, health, and more.

The books and reports of the National Academies are free to use online. Excellent resources for policy in immigration, health care, inequality, poverty, illegal drugs, food and nutrition, food insecurity, health and medicine and more.

Funded by the Pew Trust. Reports on economic mobility in the United States.

Research on consumer product safety, food and health, medical safety, children's health and more.

Contains reports on poverty, housing, homelessness and more.

Provides research and analysis on insurance, the uninsured, Medicaid & SCHIP, Medicare, disability, vulnerable populations, health care reform, and more.

Research, data tools, state by state information.

Monthly update of federal policy actions pertaining to child development.

Summaries of policy issues.

Contains reports on food and nutrition assistance (SNAP, WIC, food security, and more)

Indepth information on the economy, food assistance, health, housing, poverty and income, and much mroe.

The PRRAC offers policy briefs and reports on issues related to health, poverty, housing, education, labor, families, and much more.

From the Polaris Project.

Maps food insecurity throughout the US.

A large collection of stats from the National Center for Health Statistics.

From the Child Welfare Information Gateway.

From UCal Davis's Center for Poverty Research. Good source of policy briefs, poverty statistics, news on poverty, and more.

State profiles, stats, data tools, and more.

Information on adolescent health - mental health, reproductive health, nutrition, substance abuse, and more .

Injury statistics from the Centers for Disease Control. Includes fatal injury, nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.

Public health policy thinktank. Covers US and international issues.

This organization works to prevent animal abuse and promote public policy acknowledging the links between animal abuse and human abuse (child abuse, spousal abuse, etc).

PCRM works to influence federal policy to promote plant-based nutrition, alternatives to animal testing, making SNAP benefits healthier and impacting the Farm Bill.

Contains data on the state of working America, unemployment, and more. Also has up to date coverage of policy developments in health, inequality, poverty, race, and more.

From the Guardian newspaper. Compares state laws for registration, missing firearms, locking devices, private sales, gun shows, long guns/rifles, hand guns, "shoot-first" laws, open carry, and concealed carry.

Health-based campaign for limiting or taxing sugary beverages. Contains research on sugary beverages and links to campaigns and legislative actions in all US states.

Contains policy briefs and has a legislative database of food/health/obesity related actions taken by Congress, states, and select cities and counties.

Funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy. Lots of information on rural issues. Guides and data for every state.