Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Did you know..?: Home

Tips, tricks, quirks, and hints for using the library. New entries are broadcast on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus.

Database Tips

Research Methodologies

Did you know...that in the Advanced Search of several databases you can select a research Methodology (like Case Study, or Double Blind Trial)?

Author Info

Did you know...that the Literature Resource Center is the best source for bio-bibliographic work and author criticism?

EBSCO databases

Did you know...that you can search more than one EBSCO database at once? (Choose from the EBSCO Databases list or click Choose Databases from within any EBSCO database.)

Search Strategy Builder

Did you know...we have a great new tool to help you make better searches?

About the Library

Scanners

Did you know...that the Library has two scanners on the main floor and one on the lower level that can scan to email or USB (both free) or the printers (regular B/W printing costs)? And a microfilm scanner on the ground floor that can scan to USB?

Quiet area

Did you know...the 2nd floor is the Quiet Study area? Shush!

Newspapers

Did you know...we have current local newspapers in the ground floor reading area?

Study Rooms

Did you know...you can sign up for a study room at the Circulation Desk?

Floorplans

Did you know...there is a printable map of the library floorplans?

Social Media

Did you know...the Library has accounts on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus? Click the icons on the homepage!

New books

Did you know...the library posts lists of all our new books (and videos, CDs, etc.) online?

Digital Yearbooks

Just in for Homecoming! A few Laurels are now up in our Yearbook digitization project (+more student publications):

Research Tips

Google Scholar

Did you know...that Google Scholar searches ScienceDirect, JSTOR, BioOne, and several other library databases and subscriptions? And that you can set GS to link to library full text?

Subject Librarians

Did you know...there is a librarian for every subject, and you can meet with them to work on individual assignments?

Journal Abbreviations

Did you know...you can enter journal title abbreviations into our Journals by Title/journal finder search?

Citation formatting

Did you know...that many databases will format citations in MLA and APA styles?

Subject Librarians

Did you know...the subject librarians are working nights and weekends this semester? Ask your librarian when they will be available!

Interlibrary Loan

Did you know...you can request books, articles, etc. that we don't have via Interlibrary Loan?

For Faculty: Information Literacy Quiz

Faculty: our InfoLit quiz can now be imported into Learn9! See the quiz & contact Winnie via the Tier II guide:

Teachers' curriculum books

Did you know...that you can search for teachers' books (not kids' fiction) by searching in the Curriculum Collections in the Library Catalog?