Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Google Scholar Guide: Scholar and Citation Tools

Search tips, setting up access to our full text resources, and using GS as a "federated" search for some of our databases.

GS Errors

Always, always, ALWAYS check the citation imported or generated via GS to the actual information in the article. Because the algorithms that create Google Scholar are not checked by humans, there are some very absurd mistakes that are extremely common in the GS database. 900,000 results for author "Password" and the unknown genius P. Login (Please Login) are just of few of the misinterpretations available in Google Scholar.

Citation and GS Guides

Google Scholar's Citation Generator

Click the 'Cite' link under any Google Scholar result to see an automatically generated citation in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. If the 'Cite' link isn't visible, click More under the result.

From this pop-up, you can also get text files in various formats to import into citation management tools such as Endnote.

If we have the article in one of our databases, you may also be able to get a citation through the database as well (via the SCSU Journal Finder.)

Import Scholar References to EndNote Web

Note: Scholar importing to EndNote Web works best if you have the EndNote IE or Firefox plugins installed. The Internet Explorer plugins are installed in the computer labs on campus. See the EndNote Web help site for assistance in installing the plugins. If you do not have the plugins installed, you will need to download each citations in a separate file, and upload each file to EndNote Web using the EndNote format filter. (Please see Rebecca Hedreen for help if needed.)

You can set Google Scholar to give you links to export citations into EndNote Web (and other citation managers). Whatever information Google Scholar has on the citation will be imported. 

Under Scholar Settings (upper right), select Endnote under Bibliographic Manager.

Be sure to Save.

On this page you can also change the default search, results per page, how links open, and get to language and library linking preferences.

Import Scholar References into Zotero

All you need to import into Zotero is to have the Zotero plugin for Firefox or the Zotero standalone software with extensions for Chrome, Safari, or Firefox installed. When you do a search in Google Scholar, you'll get a folder icon in the browser address bar. Click the folder to select which results to import. PDFs directly available from the results screen will be imported (i.e. links marked with PDF). Files available via the SCSU Journal Finder links or via other links will NOT be imported. (Import these from the pages within the library databases or other websites, or download the files and add to Zotero manually.)

Import Scholar References into Mendeley

Use the Save to Mendeley Bookmarklet to import from the results page of Google Scholar. If you are not signed into Mendeley online you will be prompted to login. Select the desired results from the import screen. Check the PDF import check box at the top of the import screen to add PDF files to you Mendeley online account. Citations with PDFs are marked in the list. (SCSU Journal Finder links won't have PDF's listed. Import these from the subscriptions or databases that are linked through the Journal Finder.) Be sure to synchronize Mendeley Desktop to use the citations and PDF's on your computer and offline.