Academic Search Premier Basic SearchAcademic Search Premier Advanced SearchCQ Researcher Database Basic SearchCQ Researcher Database Advanced Search TutorialLiterature Resource Center Basic SearchLiterature Resource Center Advanced Search TutorialOpposing Viewpoints in Context Database Search Tutorial
Off Campus Access WindowCreating a Library PIN
APA Citation Style WindowMLA Citation Style WindowEndNote Web Citation Manager WindowEndnote Video Tutorials
This is the "Home" page of the "Library Help and Tutorials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Help and Tutorials  

Where to find help in the library, online and in person, including database tutorials, guides to off campus access, and more
Last Updated: May 14, 2012 URL: http://libguides.southernct.edu/libraryhelp Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Help Guides

Other Online Resources

 

More Help

If you need more help, contact the Reference Department by phone or email, or request a One on One Instruction Session with a librarian.

PDF's not opening?

So far, this problem is mostly on Firefox on the Mac. If PDF's are not opening in EBSCO or other databases, in the menu bar, go to Firefox, Preferences. Choose the Applications tab--next to 'Adobe PDF document', choose 'Always Ask'. This should force a popup menu to ask if you want to open (in Preview or Adobe) or save the PDF file. Unfortunately, the recommended "display PDF in browser" plugins are not yet updated for Firefox.

Additional PDF plugin issues are caused when the Adobe plugin (which doesn't work properly in some browsers) updates and resets to the default PDF reader. In Firefox, go to Tools and Add ons. Choose Plugins and disable the Adobe PDF plugin.

  • Experimental plugin PDF.js
    You can (at your own risk) try this experimental plugin. You may still get the "Additional plugins required" message, but most PDFs should open.
  • Schubert-it PDF plugin
    This commercial plugin is free for home, educational, and non-profit use. Download and install the plugin, and be sure to disable the Adobe plugin in the Add-ons menu.
  • PDF plugin
    This is the PDF plugin recommended by EBSCO. As of 9/1/11 it was not updated for beyond Firefox 3. Please keep checking.
  • Adobe Reader
    For older browsers and/or Windows computers, please make sure you have a current version of Adobe Reader installed. You may have to re-download after updating a browser.

Reference Department

Profile Image
Buley Reference Librarians
Contact Info
Reference Desk
1st Floor, Buley Library
203-392-5732
eref@southernct.edu
txt 'scsu' and your ? to 66746
Send Email

Database access problems

If you are ON CAMPUS and having trouble using the databases, try the "Unproxied" databases below.

If you are OFF CAMPUS:

1) Log in to https://remote.southernct.edu/ (campus network/MySCSU/Blackboard Vista login)

2) In the box on the upper right, type http://library.southernct.edu and click Browse. 
 
You can also click the + symbol to the right of Web Bookmarks, and add a direct link to the library.

3) Click Search Databases to get to this page, and use the link below to get to the Database links.

Note: Viewing will likely be slow, and some links may not work at all, due to the restrictions of the Remote service.
If the power goes out on campus, the Remote server may also go down.

Unproxied Database Links
by Library Webmaster - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
For direct access on campus to databases when the proxy server (CONSULS login) is down
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip