New Resources
- National Library of Medicine adds nano-materials to Hazardous Substances DatabankNLM has added a few nano-materials to the HSDB, a resource for health effects of chemicals. Try a search for 'nano' (no quotes) for the new records (plus a few non-nanoscale results, like NaNO2, Sodium Nitrite).
- Nanotechnology Spotlight from Nature's ScitableAn excellent overview of the concepts and concerns regarding nanotechnology. Includes links to articles, audio, and video.
- Frontiers of Characterization and Metrology for Nanoelectronics, Publications and TalksFull conference proceedings from this semiconductor conference, provided by the American Institute of Physics and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Also on the AIP website.
Nanotechnology News
Loading...
Background Materials
- Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society
- Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology, Stacks T174.7 S67 2004Click to check if book and/or CD are checked out
- Essentials of Nanotechnologyfree downloadable ebook, email required--you don't have to use your university email
- Nanotechnology from Credo ReferenceEncyclopedia articles, images, and other resources
- McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and TechnologyExcellent encyclopedia for science concepts and vocabulary
- Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society
Books
Subject Search for Nano at SCSU: Nanoparticles, Nanoscience, Nanostructures, Nanotechnology, etc.
Call number for general nanotechnology books: T174.7 (at SCSU)
Examples:
- Unbounding the future: the nanotechnology revolution / K. Eric Drexler and Chris Peterson, with Gayle Pergamit. New York: Morrow, c1991. STACKS T45 .D74 1991
- Our molecular future: how nanotechnology, robotics, genetics, and artificial intelligence will transform our world by Douglas Mulhall. Amherst, N.Y.: Prometheus Books, 2002. STACKS T174.7 .M85 2002
Nanochemistry/Nanostructures: QC176.8.N35 (at SCSU)
Example:
- Nanoparticles: from theory to application. Edited by Günter Schmid. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2004. STACKS QC176.8.N35 N354 2004
Other books are in sections related to the application of nanotechnology, for instance medicine & nanotechnology or environment & nanotechnology
Examples:
- Nanoparticles and the environment. Editors: Jillian F. Banfield, Alexandra Navrotsky. Washington, DC: Mineralogical Society of America, c2001. STACKS TA418.78 .N338 2001
- Citizen Cyborg: why democratic societies must respond to the redesigned human of the future by James Hughes. Cambridge, MA: Westview Press, c2004. STACKS RA418.5.M4 H84 2004
Journal articles
Specific journals about Nanotechnology
- Nano Today
http://0-www.sciencedirect.com.www.consuls.org/science/journal/17480132 - AZojono http://www.azonano.com/nanotechnology%20journal.asp
- More Nano Journals
Searching for articles on Nanotechnology:
- Science Direct
- Inspec (Ebsco)
- American Chemical Society Journals Note: we do not have a subscription to ACS Nano or Nanotechnology Letters, but other journals have articles about nanomaterials
- arXiv

- ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library
- Medline with Full Text (Ebsco) For medical applications of nanotechnology
- SocIndex with Full Text (Ebsco) social and medical aspects of nanotechnology
- Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) good for non-science aspects of nanotechnology
- Science in Context formerly Science Reference Center (Gale/iCONN)Science journals, magazines, reference books, images, and video, for all audiences from researchers to kids
Google Scholar
![]()
Google Scholar is Google's version of a library database. Google Scholar searches publishers' websites, academic sites (.edu), and other "scholarly" resources. Some of our own databases are covered, so you can use Google Scholar to search ScienceDirect, JSTOR, and BioOne all at the same time. However, many of the articles are not available directly to non-subscribers. By adding SCSU/Buley Library to Scholar's Preferences on your computer, you can access our subscriptions as well as whatever is free on the web. See the Guide to Google Scholar below for instructions on setting the preferences, and for search tips.
Sciences & Distance Learning Librarian |
Useful Websites
- Intute Nanotechnology Internet Guide
- MIT Library’s Nanotechnology Internet Guide
- National Nanotechnology InitiativeUnited States government initiative
- Institute of Nanotechnology (UK)includes an Image Gallery
- Foresight Nanotechnology Institute
- AZoNano – A to Z of NanotechnologyAs a commercial site, AZoNano is heavily ad supported, which can be slightly confusing—the videos, however, are especially good.
- Exploring the NanoWorldthe Intro to Nano is very good; plus a full nanotech curriculum for science teachers
- ScienceDaily’s Nanotechnology News (see sidebar)






Loading...
