Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Database: Home

This tutorial will show you how to search the Opposing Viewpoints in Context Database and introduce you to some of the special features of the database that will help to make your searches more effective.

What is opposing Viewpoints in Context?

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource for current issues and is an excellent database for controversial topics. The database is designed to help students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

In addition to the engaging, streamlined interface and media-rich topic pages, the database includes topic overviews, primary source documents, periodical articles, news articles, statistical tables, charts, graphs ad web links.

To access the database, begin at the Buley Library Home Page, and select Opposing Viewpoints from the list of "Popular Databases" on the left panel. Click on "Accessing Opposing Viewpoints" tab above for a video on how to access the database.

Please note that off-campus users will be prompted for a username and password.

Please click on the tab above to access the tutorial. For instructions on accessing the database from off-campus, please click on the "Off-campus Access to Databases" tab.

Literature Librarian

Winnie Shyam
Contact:
122G Buley Library
(203) 392-5762
Shyamw1@southernct.edu