Admin Sign In 

Public Health 

This guide will show you how to find books and articles in public health.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.southernct.edu/publichealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Beginning Your Research             Print Page
  
 

General Public Health Reference Books

Reference books are great places to begin your research. Buley Library has many public health reference books that can give you an overview of a topic before you begin looking for more specific information.

A Dictionary of Public Health
REF RA 423 .S545 2001

Encyclopedia of Public Health
REF RA 423 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Public Health ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion
REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003

Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice
REF RA 427 .O96 2001

 

Online Reference Sources

These websites all offer good factual information.

  • Diseases and Conditions, A-Z  
    From the CDC.
  • Medline Plus  
    Health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
  • Toxguides  
    Quick reference guides providing information such as chemical and physical properties , sources of exposure, routes of exposure, minimal risk levels, children's health, and health effects of toxic materials. From the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.
 
 

More Specific Reference Sources

Health and Wellness Resource Center : Contains online versions of the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, the Medical & Health Information Directory, Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary, and hundreds of fulltext journals, both popular and scholarly.

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
REF RA 395 .A3 R685 2009

Encyclopedia of Epidemiology   
REF RA 652 .E533 2008

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
REF RA 777.6 .E534 2007

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management
REF RA 971 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases
REF RA 643 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Women's Health   
REF RA 778 .G39 2002

Facts on File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine
REF R 125 .R68 2006

Handbook of Environmental Health
REF RA 565 .K67 2003

Handbook of International Health Care Systems
REF RA 441 .H36 2002

Health Care Policy and Politics A-Z
REF RA 395.A3 R685 2009

Infectious Diseases: In Context
REF RC 111 .I516 2008

Nutrition and Well-Being A-Z ONLINE

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait