Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Social Work (and how to find Tests and Measurements): Beginning Your Research

This guide will show you how to find books, articles, and other resources in the field of Social Work.

General Social Work Reference Books

Reference books are used to give you a starting point for your research, providing you with an overview of a topic and an introduction to the specific vocabulary of subject. They will give you the "big picture" and provide you with a starting point for more specific searching.

Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Social Work (Oxford) ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Social Work (NASW)
REF HV 35 .S6 2008

Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups
REF HV 45 .E53 2009

The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Social Work
REF HV 12 .B53 2000

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
REF HV 40 .C635 2008

Social Welfare and Social Work: Annual Editions
REF HV 85 .S63 2001

The Social Work Dictionary
REF HV 12 .B37 1999

Social Work Almanac
REF HV 90 .G53 1995

Online Reference Books

If you are offcampus, you will be prompted for your student ID number and library PIN.

Encyclopedia of Aging

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Social Workers Speak

Therapies, Interventions, and Counseling

APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology 
REF BF636.3 .A62 2012

The Counselor's Companion: What Every Beginning Counselor Needs to Know
REF BF 636.6 .C68 2007 

Early Intervention Dictionary
REF HV 891 .C63 1999

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
REF RC 489.B4 E485 2005

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy
REF RC 489.C63 E537 2005

Encyclopedia of Counseling
REF BF 636.54 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide ONLINE

Handbook of Racial-cultural Psychology and Counseling
REF RC 455.4.E8 H368 2005

Handbook of Child Psychology
REF BF 721 .H242 2006

International Encyclopedia of Depression ONLINE

 

Social Problems

Social Problems

Domestic Violence and Child Abuse Sourcebook
REF HV 6626.2 .D66 2000

Mental Disorders of the New Millenium
REF RC454 .M462 2006

Encyclopedia of Child Abuse
REF HV6626.5 .C57 2001

Encyclopedia of Homelessness
REF HV 4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
REF HV9104 .E58 2003

Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia
REF HC 110 .P6 P598 2004

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
REF HN 57 .S624 2006

Statistical Handbook on the Social Safety Net
REF HV 51 .P33 2004

Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of their Experiences ONLINE
 

Drugs and Alcohol

Alcohol and Drugs in North America: A Historical Encyclopedia ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Addictions ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
REF HV5804 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Drug Policy ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment and Recovery ONLINE
REF RC 563.4 .E53 2009

Essential Handbook of Treatment and Prevention of Alcohol Problems ONLINE

Families and Relationships

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships ONLINE

Child Abuse and the Criminal Justice System ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Human Relationships ONLINE

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family ONLINE

The Family in America: An Encyclopedia ONLINE