Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives

Buley LIbrary, Southern Connecticut State University

Collections

Highlights of our collections include 19th and early 20th century children’s literature, artists' books, labor posters, historical textbooks, the history of pedagogy, and the mayoral papers of John DeStefano, Jr.

  • Carolyn Sherwin Bailey Collection of Children's Literature
  • Helen Liveten Juvenile Collection
  • William Cahn Labor Collection
  • Connecticut Collection
  • Eula H. Davies Napoleonica Collection
  • A. H. Gosselin Sound Collection
  • David Libbey Collection of Library Ephemera
  • Edward G. Levy Collection of Nineteenth-Century Textbooks and Ephemera
  • The New Haven Mayoral Papers (including papers relating the Dilieto, Daniels, DeStefano, and Harp administrations)

In addition to our physical collections, our digital collections include pictorial early 20th century postcards, and The Laurel, yearbooks of Southern CT State University and mayoral papers for the town of New Haven.

Additional Areas of Collecting Interest Include: Regional and Connecticut history, especially Westville. Artists' Books and Zines, Library History, History of the Book, and SCSU Institutional history

The Artists' Book Collection

The Artists' Book Collection at Buley Library is a special collection of approximately 125 unique and limited edition books, representing the range of contemporary practice in the field of artists' books today. Students, classes, faculty, staff, as well as individuals and community groups are all welcome to visit the collection. The collection is shown by appointment. Please contact Tina Re, Librarian, Arts and Special Collections, Ret1@southernct.edu

University Archives

Special Collections serves as a repository of materials relating to the history and institutional memory of Southern Connecticut State University. This includes university publications, yearbooks, faculty and alumni collections, photographs, elect administrative documents, Faculty Senate Archives, as well as ephemeral materials.

Engleman Library Reference Desk (c. 1950s)

Carolyn Sherwin Bailey, c. 1900, From the Carolyn Sherwin Bailey Collection

Dunton, A. R. The Original Duntonian System of Rapid Writing. Boston: J.W.C. Gilman and Co., 1875.

Relation by Ann Lovett, Womens' Studio Workshop, 1999