Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HON 350

Course guide for HONS 350

Library Home Page

 

 

Familiarize yourself with the Buley Library Home Page - it 's the most important source of information for your research. 

Our catalog is SouthernSearch. There are several options for searching - you can search for resources in all formats available in SCSU by using the default search option (Everything at SCSU). To find electronic resources on your topic, select "eResources, dBooks, Articles, Journals, Videos, and more". To find print and electronic books select "SCSU Catalog". If you only want articles from periodicals, select "articles". You can also search for Course Reserves and there's an option to search the catalogs of all CSCU libraries (Ct State Colleges and Universities).

Clicking on "Find a Database" brings up all the databases the library subscribes to in alphabetical order. You can search the most popular databases on the left panel of the library home page or seach for all the databases ithe library has in a particular subject area. "See all databases" will take you to the database page that lists all databases in alphabetical order, by subject, by type (audio/video, e-books, articles, images, newspapers, etc.), and by vendor/provider. 

To search only the EBSCO databases that the library has, select "Find EBSCO articles" and you can click on search across all of the EBSCO databases or select specific databases to search. Some of the popular EBSCO databases are Academic Search Premier, America History and Life, Business Source Premier, CINAHL Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Education Research Complete, Environment Complete, ERIC, History Reference Center, Medline, Humanities International Complete, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, Science Reference Center, Social Index with Full Text, and SportDiscuss with Full Text. The library has more databases by EBSCO besides these.

"Search for Online Journals" is what you would select to see if the library has an electronic journal or magazine or newspaper. You can search by title of journal or by keywords in the journal title. To search by ISSN, select Advanced Search. If you have the citation to an article, and want to find the article, you can search "article finder" which is further down this page.

Find answers to frequently asked questions about library resources and services by selecting Library FAQs on the left panel of the library home page. Links to Borrowing and Returning Materials and Help and Tutorials are also listed here.

Under "How do I...", are links to interlibrary loan, connecting to the library sources from off-campus, course reservesand citing sources.