Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Harlem Renaissance

This guide was created for the course on the Harlem Renaissance offered by the Department of English at Southern Connecticut State University.

Web Sites

A Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance - Poets.org
Offers a brief introduction to the Harlem Renaissance and focuses on poets central to the movement.

Digital Harlem
The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930.

Drop Me Off In Harlem (Artsedge: John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts)
Drop Me Off in Harlem-based resource that explores the themes and works that emerged when creative and intellectual voices intersected during the Harlem Renaissance.

The Harlem Renaissance from Chicago Public Library
Focuses on the biography of James Baldwin and discussion on "Go Tell It on the Mountain", a flagship work of 20th century American history and culture.

The Harlem Renaissance from History.com
Provides background information on the Harlem Renaissance, showcases important historical figures of the renaissance, and highlights the impact of the movement.

The Harlem Renasisance's Cultural Explosion - PBS News Hour (YouTube)
A photography exhibit at the Addison Gallery of American Art traces the evolution of Harlem from 1931 to the present day.

Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison (Digital Public Library of America)
An overview of the novel, posters, photographs, and other sources from the Digital Public lLbrary of America and discussion questions.

Library of Congress Research Guide - The Harlem Renaissance
A comprehensive resource offering an introduction to the movement, key figures of the Harlem Renaissance, digital collecitons (including photographs of jass musicisans, photographs by the prominent Harlem Renaissance photographer Van Vehten, and ten plays by Zora Neale Hurston), web sites, and a selected bibliography. 

The Lost Secrets of the Harlem Renaissance - NPR
A radio talk on why some of the works of the Harlem Reniassance that were either lost, forgotten, or never published are being published and resurfacing now.

Nella Larsen (Perspectives in American Literature, PAL)
This site by Paul Reuben ctains a brief biography, list of her primary works, a selected bibliography and study questions.

A New African American Identity: The Harlem Renaissance (National Museum of African American History and Culture)
The National Museum of African American History and Culture provides an opportunity for those who are interested in African American culture to explore and revel in this history through interactive exhibitions. The Museum opened to the public on September 24, 2016, as the 19th and newest museum of the Smithsonian Institution.

Power of Prose - Harlem Renaissance - Pbs.org
A discussion on how writers of the Harlem Renaissance and the New Negro Renaissance movements veered from standard Egnglish and genriched literature with a powerful new voice.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
"The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is one of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences. As a research division of The New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center features diverse programming and collections spanning over 11 million items that illuminate the richness of global black history, arts, and culture."

Timeline of the Harlem Renaissance - Circle Association's Weblinks
This site, picked by the Los Angeles Times, provides a timeline of the Harlem Renaissance and links to key writers of the period and their works.

The Times and Life of W.E.B, Du Bois - Penn Today
In 1896, Du Bois was appointed an assistant instructor at Penn and began his investigation of the Seventh Ward of Philadelphia—research that he would turn into his groundbreaking work, “The Philadelphia Negro.”

Uncovering America - National Gallery of Art (The Harlem Renaissance)
Explores how visual artists of the Harlem Renaissance explore black identity and political empowerment and how their art relates to current events.

W.E.B. Du Bois - Hutchins Center for African and African American Research
As the preeminent research center in the field of African and African American Studies,  the Hutchins Center at Harvard Universtiy sponsors visiting fellows, art exhibitions, publications, research projects, archives, readings, conferences, and new media initiatives that respond to and excite interest in established and emerging channels of inquiry in African and African American research. Here you can find bioraphical information on Du Bois, books for further reading, his obituary, and links to internet sites on the author.

W.E.B. du Bois Resource Guide from the Library of Congress
This guide provides access to digital materials related to Du Bois from the Library of Congress, links to external websites, and a selected print bibliography.

Zora Neale Hurston Home Page
The officail web site of the author with biographical information, information about her works and links to other resources.