Skip to main content

United States History - Primary Resources: The Colonial Era 1607-1775

The Colonial Era 1607-1775

 

Alaska

Albany Plan of Union (1754)

America in Caricature 1765-1798

American Colonist's Library: A Treasury of  Primary Documents

The American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications

American History : A Documentary Record 1492 - Present - The Avalon Project at Yale Law  School

American Journeys. Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement: A Digital Library and Learning Center   

The American Literature Archive

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School Colonial Charters, Grants and Related Documents

Bacon's Rebellion: The Declaration (1676) by Nathaniel Bacon

Bradford's History of Plymouth Plantation

The Cambridge Agreement 26 August, 1629

The Charter of New England : 1620

Charter of the Colony of New Plymouth Granted to William Bradford and His Associates : 1629

Charter of Privileges which Gustavus Adolphus Has Graciously Given by Letters Patent to the Newly Established Swedish South Company; June 14, 1626

Charter of the Dutch West India Company : 1621

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Classics of American Colonial History

The Coins of Colonial and Early America Colonial Currency

Colonial Connecticut Records (CCR): The Public Records of the Colony of Connecticut, 1636-1776

Colonial Occupations

Colonial Williamsburg

The Constitution of the Massachusetts Bay Plantation 30 April, 1629

David Rumsey Map Collection

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention

Early Virginia Religious Petitions

Eighteenth-Century Resources

The Examination of Mrs Anne Hutchinson at the Court at Newton. 1637

Famous American Trials Salem Witchcraft Trials 1692

The First Thanksgiving Proclamation June 20, 1676

The French and Indian War

French and Indian War (The Seven Years War)

Fundamental Agreement, or Original Constitution of the Colony of New Haven, June 4, 1639

Fundamental Orders of Connecticut - Images

The Fundamental Orders of Connecticut (1639)

The Geography of Slavery

Government of New Haven Colony, October 27/November 6, 1643

The Great Awakening Comes to Weathersfield , Connecticut: Nathan Cole's Spiritual Travels

Great Britain : Parliament The Currency Act; April 19, 1764

Great Britain : Parliament The Quartering Act; May 15, 1765

Great Britain : Parliament The Stamp Act, March 22, 1765

Great Britain : Parliament The Sugar Act

"He Lov'd the English Extraordinary Well": Enoe Will Guides John Lawson Through the Carolina Interior, 1709

Increase Mather Remarkable Providences An Essay For the Recording of Illustrious Providences (Boston, 1684)

Indian Trader John Lawson's Journal of Carolina, 1709

"The Iroquois were much astonished that two men should have been killed so quickly": Samuel de Champlain Introduces Firearms to Native Warfare, 1609

Jamestown Rediscovery Project

The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents 1610 to 1791

John Winthrop, A Modell of Christian Charity (1630)

The Leslie Brock Center for the Study of Colonial Currency

Lest We Forget: The Triumph Over Slavery

A Letter Home From Massachusetts Bay in 1631

Letter of Thomas Shephard to his son at Harvard College, 1637

Letters of Thomas Newe to His Father, from South Carolina (1682).

The Lost Colony at Roanoke (1584-1590)

Maps of the Exploration and Settlement of North America, 1675-1800

Map of Exploration and Settlement, 1675-1800

Maps of the French and Indian War

Maps of the French and Indian War, North America

Massachusetts Archives Collection, 1629-1799

The Massachusetts Body of Liberties (1641)

The Mayflower Compact (November 1620)

Meeting of Frontiers: America, Russia, and the Meeting of Frontiers

Metacom Relates Indian Complaints about the English Settlers, 1675

"A Most Awkward, Ridiculous Appearance": Benjamin Franklin Enters Philadelphia

Mourt's Relation: A Journal of the Pilgrims at Plymouth, 1620-1622

The National Archives of Great Britain

Notification of the Purchase of Manhattan by the Dutch; November 5, 1626

One Year in the Life of Thomas Minor, Connecticut Farmer, 1668.

"Our Plantation Is Very Weak": The Experiences of an Indentured Servant in Virginia, 1623

An Outline of the American Economy: A Historical Perspective on the American Economy

An Outline of  American Literature: Early American and Colonial period to 1776

"Packed Densely, Like Herrings": Gottlieb Mittelberger Warns His Countryman of the Perils of Emigration, 1750

Perry- Castañeda Library Map Collection Historical Maps of the United States

Petition from the Massachusetts House of Representatives to the House of Commons; November 3, 1764

 

 

The BLOODY MASSACRE Perpetrated in King Street, BOSTON on March 5th 1770 by a party of the 29th REG
Artist: Paul Revere (and Henry Pelham?)

Text of the bottom:

Unhappy BOSTON! see thy Sons deplore, Thy hallowe'd Walks besmear'd with guiltless Gore: While faithless --- and his savage Bands, With murd'rous Rancour stretch their bloody Hands; Like fierce Barbarians grinning o'er their Prey, Approve the Carnage, and enjoy the Day.

If scalding drops from Rage from Anguish Wrung If speechless Sorrows lab' ring for a Tongue, Or if a weeping World can ought appease The plaintive Ghosts of Victims such as these; The Patriot's copious Tears for each are shed, A glorious Tribute which embalms the Dead.

But know, FATE summons to that awful Goal, Where JUSTICE strips the Murd'rer of his Soul: Should venal C-ts the scandal of the Land, Snatch the relentless Villain from her Hand, Keen Execrations on this Plate inscrib'd, Shall reach a JUDGE who never can be brib'd.

The unhappy Sufferers were Messs. SAM. L GRAY, SAM.L MAVERICK, JAM.S CALDWELL , CRISPUS ATTUCKS & PAT.K CARR Killed. Six wounded two of them (CHRIST.R MONK & JOHN CLARK) Mortally

 

 

Petition of the Virginia House of Burgesses to the House of Commons: December 18, 1764

The Plymouth Colony Archive Project at the University of Virginia

Plymouth Plantation

Raid on Deerfield: The Many Stories of 1704

Rare Map Collection - Colonial America

Religion and the American Revolution

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic: Persecution In America

Research Guide to Colonial and State Census Records at the Connecticut State Library

Resolves of the Pennsylvania Assembly on the Stamp Act, September 21, 1765

Revenge in the Salem Witchcraft Hysteria: The Putnam Family and George Burroughs

Runaway Slave Advertisements from 18th-Century Virginia Newspapers

The Salem Covenant of 1629

Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive & Transcription Project

The Salem Witch Trials 1692 A Chronology of Events

Salem Witchcraft Hysteria

Salem Witchcraft Trials - Library of Congress

Samuel Adams, The Rights of the Colonists, The Report of the Committee of Correspondence to the Boston Town Meeting, Nov. 20, 1772

Samuel Willard, A briefe account of a strange & unusuall Providence of God befallen to Elizabeth Knap of Groton

Secrets of the Dead

1755 The French and Indian War

"A Severe and Proud Dame She Was": Mary Rowlandson Lives Among the Indians, 1675 by Mary Rowlandson

Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860

"So Must We Be One..., Otherwise We Shall Be All Gone Shortly": Narragansett Chief Miantonomi Tries to Form an Alliance Against Settlers in New England and Long Island, 1640s.

"The Starving Time": John Smith Recounts the Early History of Jamestown, 1609

"Such Was the Tumultation These Women Made": The Women of Marblehead Wreak Revenge Upon Indian Captors, 1677

"They Live Well in the Time of their Service": George Alsop Writes of Servants in Maryland, 1663

"Thus This Poore People Populate This Howling Desart ": Edward Johnson Describes the Founding of the Town of Concord in Massachusetts Bay, 1635

A Treasury of Primary Documents: Primary Source Documents Pertaining to Early American History

Virtual Jamestown : Jamestown and the Virginia Experiment

Walking Tour of Plymouth Plantation

"We Unfortunate English People Suffer Here": An English Servant Writes Home

The West Point Atlas of American Wars

"What Can You Get By Warre ": Powhatan Exchanges Views With Captain John Smith, 1608"

The Winthrop Society

"Work and labor in this new and wild land are very hard": A German Migrant in Philadelphia, 1750 Gottlieb Mittelberger .

WWW-VL: The American West Colonial Period

WWW-VL: History: USA: Colonial Era