Skip to main content

United States History - Primary Resources: General Resources

United States History Primary Sources

 

About McCarthyism

The Ad*Access Project  - The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II

Advice and Consent: The Panama Canal Treaties

Air War College

Air Force Historical Research Agency

Air University Research Web

Air University's Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

Alien Registration Act (1940) also known as the Smith Act

America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1839 - 1864

American Cultural History: The Twentieth Century

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History

American Diplomacy : Bilateral Treaties 1778 - 1999

American Diplomacy : Multilateral Treaties 1864 - 1999

American Historical Images

American History : A Documentary Record 1492 – Present – The Avalon Project at Yale Law  School

American and British History Resources on the Internet

American Historical Association   

American History 15th Century Documents

American History 16th Century Documents

American History 17th Century Documents

American History 18th Century Documents

American History 19th Century Documents

American History 20th Century Documents

American History 21st Century Documents

American History to 1865

American Journeys Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement

American Memory Library of Congress Map Collections Online

American Originals: The Original Exhibit/The National Archives

American Originals II National Archives and Record Administration

American Shores: Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850

American State Papers/ Library of Congress The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.

American Variety Stage Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920

America 's Historical Documents/The National Archives 

An American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera

Archive of Early American Images

Archives.gov  Subject Index /National Archives and Record Administration

Archives Resource Center

The Articles of Confederation of the United Colonies of New England; May 19, 1643

The Authentic History Center: Primary Sources from American Popular Culture

The Avalon Project at Yale
This is a great site that provides connections to a wealth of documents in law, history, and diplomacy pre-18th century to the 21st century.  For example: "1492-Privleges and Prerogatives Granted by Their Catholic Majesties to Christopher Columbus"   and "The Articles of Confederation of the United Colonies of New England ; May 19, 1643".   A very user-friendly site with loads of primary source documents.

The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: 18th Century Documents

Best of History Web Sites

Biography.Com

Boundaries of the United States and the Several States

The British Library

Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, 1933-Present

By Popular Demand: Portraits of the Presidents and First Ladies 1789-Present

Center for History and New Media: History Matters

Center of Military History

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

The CIA Electronic Reading Room

Combat Studies Institute

Combined Arms Research Library

Constitution of the United States

The Constitutional Convention

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture

Cornell Library Digital Collections (MOA)

Democracy in America Alexis DeTocqueville

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library

American Memory Project at the Library of Congress The American Memory Project offers extensive online primary source materials on United States history and culture.

American Treasures of the Library of Congress

Archives Web: National Archives on the Web

Berryman Political Cartoon Collection Contains 100 cartoons from the early part of the 20th century

Center of Military History

Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection A collection of photographs covering the years 1938-1969

Combined Arms Research Library

Connecticut History Online

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

Credentials of the State of Connecticut; May 2, 1787

The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787

Defense Technical Information Center

Designs for Democracy 200 Years of Drawings from the National Archives

Digital Classroom of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

Digital History

The Digital Librarian: History

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture

Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series (Frank Leslie's Boys of America, Happy Days, Beadle's New York Dime Library, etc.) and equally strong holdings of story papers like the New York Ledger and Saturday Night.

Directory of Labor Archives in the United States and Canada

Discovering Lewis & Clark

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence: History & Social Studies

History and Politics Out loud History and Politics Out Loud is a diverse collection of audio -- speeches and private communications -- relating to U.S. history and politics.

Infantry: U.S. Army Infantry Homepage - Donovan Research Library Digitized Monograph Collections

Dudley Knox Library of the Naval Post-Graduate School

Early American Fiction Collection (1789-1875)

Eighteenth Century E-Texts

Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920

Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project

Famous Trials

The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

FBI-Freedom of Information Act

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project

Find Law: Supreme Court Opinions Provides full texts of Supreme Court decisions since 1893

First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920

Food History News

Free Speech Movement Digital Archive

Foreign Relations of the United States

The Founding Documents

1492: An Ongoing Voyage

France in America

From Heaven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America

From Revolution to Reconstruction… and What  Happened Afterwards

Gabriel Gateway to Europe's National Libraries

Gallup Poll Releases 

George Grantham Bain CollectionPhotographs range from 1860's to the late 1930's with most in the 1900's to mid 1920's.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Government of New Haven Colony; October 27 - November 6, 1643

Growth of a Nation A ten minute animated presentation showing the expansion of the country westward.

Historic American Sheet Music

Historic Audio Archives

Historical Election Results

Historical Maps of the United States - Perry- Castañeda Library
Map Collection

Historical Maps Online

Historical Picture Collections

Historical Text Archive

History Central

History Channel Speeches

The History Cooperative  

H- Ncc National Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History

History Journals Guide - WWW Virtual Library

History Matters: The U.S. [History] Survey Course

History of Eating Utensils

History of the American West 1860-1920

The History Net

The History Place

History's Best on (PBS)

Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace

A Hypertext on American History: From the Colonial Period until Modern Times

"I Do Solemnly Swear..."Presidential Inaugurations

Images of American Political History

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series census microdata for social and economic research  Currently provides 22 census data samples and 65 million records from 13 federal censuses covering the period 1850–1990

The Internet Library of Early Journals, A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals Provides full text for large runs of 18th and 19th century British journals including the Annual Register, The Builder, Gentleman's Magazine and others.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Internet Public Library:  United States Resources

Inventing Entertainment: The Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Company

Key Ingredients: America by Food

Labor Libraries

League of Nations Photo Collections

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music

Library and Archives Canada

The Library of Congress American Memory Project, Photos and Prints

Library of Western Fur Trade Historical Source Documents Diaries, Narratives, and Letters of the Mountain Men

Links for the History Profession

MAGIC Historical Map Collection The MAGIC Historical Map Collection is an online collection of digital images of maps for the state of Connecticut, New England, the Northeast Atlantic region, and the United States. The majority of digital images in the collection represent the cartographic history of the State of Connecticut.

Map Collections

Map History / History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject

Making of America (MOA) From the University of Michigan , "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction."  The collection contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with nineteenth-century imprints.

Map Collections: 1500–2003

Map History/History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject

McCord Museum of Canadian History

Military Battles and Campaigns

Military History Center

National Archives and Records Administration ( NARA ) A federal government agency, NARA is America 's national record keeper. It is the major repository of the government's historical records.

The National Archives of Great Britain

National Atlas of the United States of America, 1970 to present

National Council for History Education  

National Center for History in the Schools

The National Portrait Gallery 

National Security Archive

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) A catalog of archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archive, and historical societies located throughout North America .

Naval Historical Center

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

1948: Year of Turmoil & Triumph/ National Archives and Records Administration  Links to research, activities, and photographs related to 1948. From the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum.

Nineteenth Century Documents Project

Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals 

Notes of the Secret Debates of the Federal Convention of 1787, Taken by the Late Hon Robert Yates, Chief Justice of the State of New York, and One of the Delegates from That State to the Said Convention

Not by Bread Alone: America's Culinary Heritage

The OnLine Books Page This is a fascinating website with 16,000 listings that "facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the internet" including thousands of 19th century titles, and serial archives (magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals).  It also provides links to other digitized archival book collections.

"The Pageant of America" Photograph Archive

Papers Related to the Foreign Relations of The United States - The Avalon Project Yale University

The Parallel History Project on NATO and the Warsaw Pact
Declassified military materials from the Communist Bloc (1955 - 1989; transcriptions and translations)

Penn's Digital Library Project

Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933

Picturing America, 1497-1899: Prints, Maps, and Drawings bearing on the New World Discoveries and on the Development of the Territory that is now the United States

Political Cartoons and Cartoonists 19th & 20th Century

Probate Inventory Database Gunston Hall Plantation provides transcriptions of over 300 Virginia and Maryland probate inventories between 1740-1810 .

Presidential Speeches

Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age Nineteenth- and Early-Twentieth-Century Perspectives

Online Bookshelves: Research Materials

Organization of American Historians   

Our Documents

Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Case Summaries, Oral Arguments & MultiMedia

An Outline of American History

Perry- Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of the United States

Presidential Libraries

Presidents of the United States

Project Gutenberg This site offers e-texts (full text) for viewing, free of charge.  Most of the texts are taken from books, published pre-1923.  The titles available are mostly classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries from such authors as Shakespeare, Poe, Dante etc.  Although most Project Gutenberg e-texts are public domain some have copyright restrictions (you may not be allowed to reproduce or distribute them).

Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library – Duke

Ratification of the Constitution by the State of Connecticut; January 8, 1788

Ready, 'Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources

Repository Listing of Primary Sources in the U.S.

SCETI: Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image

Secret Service History – Timeline

Smithsonian National Museum of American History

Special Collections in the Library of Congress: Business, Economic, and Labor History

Stars and Stripes: U.S. Military Newspapers in the Library of Congress

Supreme Court History

Supreme Court History the First One Hundred Years

Turn of the Century Posters

21st Century Documents

United States in Stereo: In the Robert N. Dennis Collection of Stereoscopic Views

The U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School

U.S. Army Military History Institute

U.S. Department of Labor Wirtz Labor Library

U.S. Military Academy

WhiteHouseTapes.org

Words and Deeds in American History

WWW-VL: History: Maps