Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Controversial Issues

This guide will show you how to find information on debatable or controversial issues in Buley Library.

Finding Articles

To find journal, magazine or newspaper articles, you must search a database. The library subscribes to several databases. Some are general and some are subject specific. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a great database for the hottest controversial issue topics in all subjects and provides topic overviews,  magazine and journal articles, news, primary sources, statistics, websites,  podcasts, and videos. You can search Opposing Viewpoints by entering your search terms in the search box below.

 

Peer Reviewed Articles

Sometimes your professors will require you to use only scholarly and/or peer reviewed sources. Scholarly sources are written for an academic audience and almost always include references to other works. Peer reviewed sources are scholarly sources that have been approved by other knowledgeable people in the field.  Notice that you can check off a "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box when searching most databases including Academic Search Premier!

Requesting articles through Interlibrary loan

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms. If you are a first time user of this service you will be prompted to fill out a form with your information. Once you do that select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit. Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.

More helpful databases

To access any database that the library subscribes to, go to the library home page (www.libguides.southernct.edu/home) and select "More Databases" from the left panel under "Popular Databases". On the databases page, click on the down arrow next to Choose a Subject, select the subject that you want and click on Go. A list of relevant subject databases for that discipline will appear and you can search the ones you want.

Alternatively, select the relevant database from the  A-Z list of databases. To search Opposing Viewpoints, click on the letter O and then select Opposing Viewpoints from the list of O databases.

Below are links to some additional databases that are good for research on controversial issues

Academic Search Premier

CQ Researcher   - Good source for current issue topics.

JSTOR  - Excellent source for full-text peer-reviewed journal articles; does not contain the most recent volumes/issues of journals.

Main File - Contains many full text articles from general reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and newswires. 

National Newspaper Core - Articles from Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times,  Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

ScienceDirect - Full-text scientific database offering journal articles, books, and book chapters.