Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Medieval Literature

This guide was created for the course EN385: English Medieval Literature offered by the Department of English, Southern Connecticut State University.

Finding Journal Articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on English literary figures and their works, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and ciritical information on authors and works of literature. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password.

 

Literary Reference Center

 

 

Gale Literature Resource Center

 

 

Literature Online

 

  MLA  International Bibliography

 


Granger's World of Poetry

 

  JSTOR

 

More Journal/Periodical Databases

Additional databases for research on English authors and their works:

 

 


  Academic Search Premier

 

 OmniFile Full Text Select

 

Humanities International Complete

 

Genderwatch

 

 

 

 Dissertations and Theses

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Key Journals in Old and Medieval English Literatures

The journals below are some of the key journals for Old and Middle English Literature. They can be found either in print or online in Buley Library.

Anglo-Saxon England

Arthuriana

The Chaucer Review: Journal of Medieval Studies and Literary Criticism

Comitatus: A Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies

English Studies: A Journal of English Language and Literature

Essays in Medieval Studies

Exemplaria: A Journal of Theory in Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Medieval Review

Medium Aevum

Modern Philology: A Journal Devoted to Research in Medieval and Modern Literature

Notes and Queries

Oral Tradition

PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America

Review of English Studies: The Leading Journal of English Literature and the English Language

Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies

Studies in English Literature

Year's Work in English Studies