Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 097: Anthologies

This guide will introduce to library research for finding essays in anthologies.

Finding Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

To find journal and magazine articles, you must search a database. The most common multidisciplinary database that we encourage students to use as a starting point for their research is Academic Search Premier.  Please remember that if you are accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted for your SCSU username and password.

You can enter your search terms in the search box below to search the database. To find interviews with a specific author, enter your search as follows: author's name and interview 

Example: Nelson George and interview

Other relevant databases are listed below. 

 

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

More Databases

Essay and General Literature Index
This is a great resource for locating essays in collections from 1900 to the present. If you enter your topic and click on search, the database will retrieve records that contain book titles in which your topic appears. You must then search our catalog to see if we have that book in the library.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains journal articles primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Please note that you will not find the most recent issues of most journal titles here.

Gale Literature Resource Center
This is a literary database that contains biographical and critical information on authors and their works.

Humanities International Complete
This resource provides full text of journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.

Literary Reference Center
This is another literary database where you will find biographical and critical information on authors and their works.

MainFile
MainFile is a multidisciplinary database much like Academic Search Premier. You can find author interviews and reviews and criticism of literary works.

MLA International Bibliography
Provides records to books, book chapters, and journal articles in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Contains online and many full-text journal articles.

OmniFile Full Text Select
This is another multidisciplinary database that contains research in all subject areas.

Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints is an excellent database to browse for topics to write about. It contains pro-con essays on various topics.

Project Muse
You can get scholarly journal articles that focus on the humanities and social sciences through Project Muse.