Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian American Literature Resources

This resource guide to Asian American Literature includes books and databases in Buley Library, web sites that deal with Asian American authors and their writings, and links to individual author pages.

Web Resources

Asian American Authors

Contains links to a list of works by Asian American authors compiled by the librarians of the Harold Washington Library Center and to the Asian Americans Writers' Workshop. The Asian American Writers’ Workshop is a national not-for-profit arts organization devoted to the creating, publishing, developing and disseminating of creative writing by Asian Americans. There are links to works by Asian American writers for young adults as well as to individual authors like Gish Jen, Ha Jin, Jhumpa Lahiri, Amy Tan, and Gus Lee.

Asian American Literature: Resources for Research
This site contains refereed journals, suggested scholarly books, Asian American bookstores and publishers, Asian American Studies programs, and non-academic
sites dealing with Asian American issues.

Asian American Voices in Poetry
A collection of poets and articles exploring Asian American culture from the Poetry Foundation.

Asian American Writers
Contains brief biographies of noted Asian American writers and links to articles, interviews and book reviews.


Asian American Writers Workshop

The Asian American Writers Workshop
 is devoted to creating, publishing, developing and disseminating creative writing by Asian Americans.

Asian Nation

This site explores the 
the historical, political, demographic, and cultural issues of the Asian American community

Calisphere: Asian Americans
This site is part of the California Cultures Project and provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration.

Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
SEAADoc is an educational resource of Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.


Filipino American Literature

This page from Emory University gives a brief description of Filipino American literature highlighting the major themes and works of fiction and poetry with links to related sites.


South Asian American Digital Archive

SAADA documents, preserves, and shares stories of South Asian Americans.


South Asian Women Writers
 Bibliography
This site lists writings of fiction and non-fiction by Asian Americans and links to reviews of their works where possible.


Voice of the Shuttle - Asian American Writers

Voice of the Shuttle is an excellent site for information on minority literatures. The section on Asian Pacific American literatures includes general resources in Asian American literature, resources for K-12 teachers, and links to Asian American Writers broken down by Asian American Women Writers of Color, Asian American Autobiography, authors by name and by racial/ethnic background with links to Chinese American, Filipina American, Indian American, Japanese American, and Korean American.