Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English - Research Methods and Critical Theory

This guide contains books, websites, databases and other resources on research methods and critical theory.

Books

African American Literary Theory: A Reader 

American Literary Critics and Scholars, 1800-1850  

American Literary Critics and Scholars, 1850-1880  

American Literary Critics and Scholars, 1880-1900  

American literary realism, critical theory, and intellectual prestige, 1880-1995   

The Art of Literary Research  

At War With the Word: Literary Theory and Liberal Education   

Beyond Literary Theory: Literature as a Search for the Meaning of Human Destiny  

The Blackwell Guide to Literary Theory  

C.G. Jung and Literary Theory: The Challenge From Fiction  

Classical rhetorics and rhetoricians : critical studies and sources  

Contemporary Critical Theory: A Selective Bibliography  

Contemporary Feminist Theories  

Conversations: Contemporary Critical Theory and the Teaching of Literature   

Critical keywords in literary and cultural theory  

Critical Questions: Invention, Creativity, and the Criticism of Discourse and Media   

Critical reading and writing : an Introductory Coursebook 

Critical Theory   

Critical Theory: A Very Short Introduction

Critical Theory and African Literature Today  

Critical Theory and Educational Research  

Critical Theory and Practice: A Coursebook  

Critical Theory and the English Teacher 

Critical Theory and the Teaching of Literature  

Critical Theory, Marxism and Modernity  

Critical Theory: Selected Essays  

Critical Theory Since Plato  

A Critic's Journey: Literary Reflections, 1958-1998  

Critique, Action and Liberation 

Cultural Studies and the New Humanities: Concepts and Controversies

Dead Artists, Live Theories and Other Cultural Problems

Deconstruction and Critical Theory  

A Dictionary of Critical Theory 

A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory 

A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms  

Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory  

Doing Things with Texts: Essays in Criticism and Critical Theory 

The Discipline of English: A Guide to Critical Theory and Practice  

The Emperor Redressed: Critiquing Critical Theory  

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory 

The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory 

Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism  

Ethos: New Essays in Rhetorical and Critical Theory  

More Books

A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory  

A Glossary of Literary Terms and a Handbook of Rhetorical Devices 

Grounds of Literary Criticism  

A Guide to Literary Criticism and Research

Handbook of Literary Research  

The Idea of the Vernacular: An Anthology of Middle English Literary Theory, 

Ideals and Illusions: On Reconstruction and Deconstruction in Contemporary Critical Theory 

An Introduction to Bibliographical and Textual Studies  

An Introduction to Research in English Literary History  

An Introduction to Scholarship in Modern Languages and Literatures 

James Joyce and Critical Theory: An Introduction 

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism  

Key Concepts in Literary Theory  

The Language of Drama: Critical Theory and Practice  

Learning for a Diverse World: Using Critical Theory to Read and Write about Literature   

 Literary Research Guide  

The Literary Text in the Digital Age  

Literary Theory and Criticism: An Oxford Guide   

Literary Theory and the Claims of History: Postmodernism, Objectivity, Multicultural Politics

Literary Theory From Plato to Barthes: An Introductory History 

Literary theory : a guide for the perplexed

Literary Theory: A Reintroduction  

Literary Theory: An Anthology 

Literature in English: A Guide for Librarians in the Digital Age  

Modern Critical Theory and Classical Literature 

Modern Literary Theory: A Reader  

The Myth of Theory 

Orality and Literacy: The Technologizing of the Word  

Philosophical Approaches to the Study of Literature  

The Philosophy of Modern Literary Theory  

Postmodern Literary Theory: An Introduction   

Post-theory: New Directions in Criticism  

A Reader's Guide to Contemporary Literary Theory  

Readings: Acts of Close Reading in Literary Theory  

Reception Study: From Literary Theory to Cultural Studies  

Renaissance Drama and Contemporary Literary Theory  

A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature 

The Scholar-critic: An Introduction to Literary Research

Straight with a Twist: Queer Theory and the Subject of Heterosexuality  

The Theory Mess: Deconstruction in Eclipse  

Theory of the Novel: A Historical Approach  

Twentieth Century Literary Theory: A Reader  

Understanding Contemporary American Literary Theory  

The Use of Manuscripts in Literary Research: Problems of Access and Literary Property Rights  

What's Left of Theory? New Work on the Politics of Literary Theory  

What's Wrong with Postmodernism: Critical Theory and the Ends of Philosophy  

Writing Theory and Critical Theory