Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Cultural Anthropology

This guide will help you find resources in anthropology, including archaeology, linguistics, and biological anthropology.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
REF GN 11 .E63 2006

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
REF GN 307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
REF GT 2850 .E53 2003
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ONLINE

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
REF GR 35 .G75 2006

Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ONLINE

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
ONLINE

 

Peoples of the World

Australian People: An Encyclopedia
REF DU 120 .A718 2001

Countries and Their Cultures 
REF GN 307 .C68 2001

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa ONLINE

Encyclopedia of African Peoples 
REF DT 15 .E53 2000

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History
REF NA 7105 .S74 2009

Handbook of North American Indians 
REF E 77 .H25 

Muslim Cultures Today 
REF DS 35.62 .M88 2006

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life 
REF GN 333 .W67 1988

Finding Scholarly Articles

Anthrosource
Fulltext journals from the American Anthropological Association. 

JSTOR
Fulltext articles in anthropology, archaeology, African studies, Asian studies, evolutionary biology, folklore, Latin American studies, linguistics, Middle East studies, and more.

eHRAF World Cultures and eHRAF Archaeology

eHRAF is the electronic version of the Human Relations Area Files, a very unique resource for anthropology and other fields using cross cultural comparison as a research methodology.  

It's not as easy to use as Ebsco or JSTOR, so it may take some time before you get the hang of it. eHRAF lets you look below the article or book level to snippets of information on a particular cultural practice, from many different cultures, at the same time. 

The key to using eHRAF is its unique subject-indexing system. Using the subject index, you could find information from different cultures on anything from "Suicide" to "Nuptials" to "Furniture" to "Shipbuilding" to "Brawls, Riots, and Banditry." 

Because of the subject index, eHRAF could be used to conduct research in fields including psychology, religious studies, public health, social work, education, child development, arts, and engineering. 

Click here to read more about using the subject index. 

Click here to read more about cross-cultural research. 

Click here for the eHRAF user guide. 

Online Resources