Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Reviews

Anthropolgy

Art

Print     

Art Index (1929-present)
Book reviews appear in a separate section at the back of each print volume. 

       

 

Business

Communication/Communication Disorders

Online

Computer Science

Online

           ACM Digital Library  

         Computer and Applied Science Complete 

 

Education

Print 

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography (1927-2001)
Book reviews are arranged alphabetically by author since 1954 in section entitled "Book Notices".

      Education Index  (1929 -present)
      Includes a separate section for book reviews at the end of each volume.


     In and Out of Books: Reviews and Other Polemics on Special Education (1984)

Online 

Exercise Science

Print

Physical Education Index  (1978-present)

Online

Geography

Online

Health Sciences

Online

History

Online

Library Science

Print 

ARBA Guide to Library Science Literature, 1970-1983      

Library and Information Science Abstracts - LISA (1969-present)
LISA provides bibliographic information about past and present developments in librarianship, information science, online retrieval, publishing and information technology. it is international in scope and includes book reviews. 
                                        

Library Literature  (1921-1997)
The print index has a separate section for book reviews at the back of each volume.

Reference Books Bulletin

Online 

Literature

Math

Online

Music

Online

Philosophy

Print 

The Philosopher's Index (1988-present)

The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Book reviews appear in a separate section at the back of each volume.

Online

Psychology

Print 

Mental Measurements Yearbook  (1940-present)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska,
provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
It
also contains reviews of books on psychological tests.

Online

Religion

Online

Sciences

Print 

Applied Science and Technology Index  (1958-1984)

This is a print index that covers 350 English language journals in the fields of engineering, computers, chemistry, applied mathematics, energy, and other applied sciences. Starting with the 1976 volume the last section of each issue has book reviews.

Biological and Agricultural Index  (1964-1996)

Biological & Agricultural Index provides indexes periodicals in biology and agriculture. Covers feature articles, biographical sketches, reports of symposia and conferences, review articles, abstracts and summaries of papers, selected letters to the editor, special issues or monographic supplements, and book reviews.

Online  

Social Sciences

Print 

Required Reading: Sociology's Most Influential Books                  

Social Sciences Index (1974-preent)

Social Sciences Index is published annually and contains citations to periodical articles in anthropology, area studies, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, international relations, law, public administration, policy sciences, political science, social work, sociology, public welfare, urban studies and related subjects. Citations to book reviews appear in a separate section at the back of each volume.

Sociological Abstracts  (1955-present)
Indexes books and dissertations in the field of sociology and related disciplines. To access citations to book reviews, type book review in the keyword or phrase section and then add the author or book title to your search. Or you can click on the Limit Your Search button on the main screen and select the " book review" option from the Publication Type on the pull-down menu.

Online

Theater

Online

Women's Studies

Online