Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biographical and Critical Information on Authors

Basic Reference Books for Literature Research

The following multi-volume interrelated sets are excellent starting points for finding biographical or critical information about writers. All of the series is cross-indexed. Look up your author in the index section of the last volume of each set next to the author's name there will be abbreviations of books in which information about the author can be found. These abbreviations are expanded in the front of each volume. Click on the title for catalog record including call number.

Children's Literature Review
Contains excerpts from criticisms, reviews and commentaries of books for children and young people.

Contemporary Authors (CA)
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, motion pictures, journalism and other fields. There is an annual paperback title index.

Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series -- (CAAS)
Provides autobiographies of important current writers. The index lists names, titles, subjects and schools of writing. All genres included.

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (CANR)
Provides updates on authors listed in Contemporary Authors. Use the latest CA cumulative index to locate individual author's listing.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who are now living or who have died since January 1, 1960. There is an annual paperbound title index and a cumulative index of authors and critics.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) -- Ref PN, PQ, PR and PS
Over a hundred volumes, each one dealing with a different topic. To locate a particular writer, check the author index in the latest volume. Check
our catalog to locate books in which the critical information may be found.

Literature Criticism from 1400 -1800 (LC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1400 and 1800. Has a cumulative index to authors. Includes all genres.

Literature Criticism Online
Online database of the following literary works: Contemporary literary criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Short story criticism, Drama criticism, Children's literature review.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1800 and 1900.

Something About the Author (SATA)
Lives and works of authors and illustrators of children's books. Indexes in alternate odd numbered volumes beginning with Vol. 57. Has authors' index and illustrations index.

Something About the Author Autobiography Series
A collection of autobiographical essays written by prominent authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Each essay has a bibliography.

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Excerpts from criticisms of authors, playwrights, poets and other literary figures who died between 1900 and 1960.

More Books on Writers and Their Works

American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Lengthy essays on American authors. Check the last volume of the set to locate author information.

Articles on Twentieth Century Literature
An annotated bibliography of journal articles dealing with twentieth century authors.

Black Literature Criticism
Excerpts from the criticism of the most significant works of black authors over the past 200 years.

British Writers
Provides information on British writers. Check the cumulative index in the last volume of the set to locate information about your author.

The Cambridge History of American Literature
This is the standard source for a survey of American Literature. It is arranged chronologically in four volumes with bibliographies in each volume.

The Cambridge History of English Literature
This is the standard source for a survey of British Literature from the Old English period to the end of the nineteenth century. It is arranged chronologically with the index in volume 15.

The Critical Dictionary of English Literature and British and American Authors, Living and Deceased, from Earliest Accounts to the Latter Half of the Nineteenth Century -- Ref Z1224. A4317 2 volumes
Good source for identification and verification of authors.

The Critical Temper: a Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature form the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century
Updates Moulton. Provides excerpts from criticism of twentieth century writers.

Cyclopedia of World Authors
Provides introductions to the lives and works of prominent authors from around the world. The authors are arranged alphabetically with each entry containing a brief biography and a list of works.

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the Twentieth Century
Furnishes biographies and critical assessments of major living authors. Authors are arranged in alphabetical order. Index available in the last volume of the set.

Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors
Useful as a collection of criticism and as an index to critical studies. Each author has a brief biographical entry followed by critical excerpts. 

Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism
Selected sources for the study of more than 2,500 outstanding works of western literature. Alphabetical arrangement by author's last name. In the front of each volume is a list of authors and titles.

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
Provides pre-twentieth century criticism of the entire range of British and American authors. A brief biography of each author and list of works are included.

The Nobel Prize Winners. Literature
Contains biographical and career information on award winners of Literature from the institution of the Nobel Prize in 1901 to 1987.

Oxford Companion to American Literature
Contains biographical reference and critical commentary on major American writers.

Oxford Companion to English Literature
Contains biographical reference and critical commentary on major English writers.

Survey of Contemporary Literature
Provides literary criticism for many of the outstanding books of contemporary literature. The titles are arranged alphabetically. Also contains bibliographical references. Updated reprints of 2,300 essay-reviews from Masterplots Annuals, 1954-1976, and Survey of Contemporary Literature Supplement.

Twentieth Century American Literature
Contains criticism of modern authors from the USA and Canada. Each essay consists of a brief biography, general information and a list of the author's works.

Twentieth Century British Literature
Contains criticism of modern authors from Great Britain. Each essay consists of a brief biography, general information and a list of the author's works.

World authors, 1950-1970

World authors, 1970-1975

World authors, 1975-1980

World authors, 1980-1985

World authors 1990-1995

World authors, 1995-2000