Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biographical and Critical Information on Authors

Finding Journal Articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on  literary figures and their works, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and critical information on authors and works of literature. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and passwordWhile many articles are available full text through the databases, some may be available only in print journals and some may not be available at all in Buley Library. Articles not available can be requested through Interlibrary loan.

 

Literary Reference Center

 

Gale Literature Resource Center

 

 

 MLA  International Bibliography

 

 

  JSTOR

 

 

More Databases

Additional databases for research on authors and literary works:

 

 

 

  Academic Search Premier

 

Gender Watch

 

 OmniFile Full Text Select

 

Humanities International Complete

 

 Dissertations and Theses

Where are Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor in the Periodicals Room. Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Scanners are available on the ground floor and first floor. You can scan to print, to send to mail, or to save to a flash drive. Scanning is free but printing costs apply. For additional help see a librarian.

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms. If you are a first time user of this service you will be prompted to fill out a form with your information. Once you do that select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit. Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.