Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fiction and Novel Criticism

Basic Reference Books for Literature Research

The following multi-volume interrelated sets are excellent starting points for finding biographical or critical information about writers. All of the series is cross-indexed. Look up your author in the index section of the last volume of each set next to the author's name there will be abbreviations of books in which information about the author can be found. These abbreviations are expanded in the front of each volume. Click on the title for catalog record including call number.

Children's Literature Review
Contains excerpts from criticisms, reviews and commentaries of books for children and young people.

Contemporary Authors (CA)
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, motion pictures, journalism and other fields. There is an annual paperback title index.

Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series -- (CAAS)
Provides autobiographies of important current writers. The index lists names, titles, subjects and schools of writing. All genres included.

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (CANR)
Provides updates on authors listed in Contemporary Authors. Use the latest CA cumulative index to locate individual author's listing.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who are now living or who have died since January 1, 1960. There is an annual paperbound title index and a cumulative index of authors and critics.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) -- Ref PN, PQ, PR and PS
Over a hundred volumes, each one dealing with a different topic. To locate a particular writer, check the author index in the latest volume. Check
our catalog to locate books in which the critical information may be found.

Literature Criticism from 1400 -1800 (LC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1400 and 1800. Has a cumulative index to authors. Includes all genres.

Literature Criticism Online
Online database of the following literary works: Contemporary literary criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Short story criticism, Drama criticism, Children's literature review.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1800 and 1900.

Something About the Author (SATA)
Lives and works of authors and illustrators of children's books. Indexes in alternate odd numbered volumes beginning with Vol. 57. Has authors' index and illustrations index.

Something About the Author Autobiography Series
A collection of autobiographical essays written by prominent authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Each essay has a bibliography.

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Excerpts from criticisms of authors, playwrights, poets and other literary figures who died between 1900 and 1960.

British Fiction

British and Irish Novelists Since 1960

British Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers, 1918-1960

British Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Before World War I

British Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Since 1960

British Mystery and Thriller Writers Since 1940. First Series

British Novelists, 1930-1959

British Novelists, 1660-1800

British Novelists, 1890-1929. Modernists

British Novelists, 1890-1929.. Traditionalists

British Novelists Between the Wars

British Novelists Since 1960

British Novelists Since 1960 Second Series

British Novelists Since 1960 Third Series

British Novelists Since 1960 Fourth Series

British Romantic Novelists, 1789-1832

British Short Fiction Writers, 1800-1880

British Short Fiction Writers,1880-1914. The Realist Tradition

British Short Fiction Writers,1880-1914. The Romantic Tradition

British Short-Fiction Writers, 1915-1945

British Short Fiction Writers, 1945-1980

British Women Fiction Writers, 1900-1960

British Writers

A Checklist of English Prose Fiction, 1700-1739

Contemporary Novelists

The Eighteenth Century Gothic Novel: An Annotated Bibliography of Criticism and Selected Texts

The English Novel: 1700-1740: An Annotated Bibliography

The English Novel, 1740-1850

English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972

The English Novel: Twentieth Century Criticism

A Guide to Twentieth Century Women Novelists

Late Victorian and Edwardian British Novelists. First Series

Late Victorian and Edwardian British Novelists. Second Series

Masterplots II. British and Commonwealth Fiction Series

Modern British Literature

Notable British Novelists

A Readers' Guide to the Twentieth Century Novel

The Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction

St. James Guide to Science Fiction Writers

Twentieth Century Crime and Mystery Writers

Twentieth Century Science Fiction Writers

Twenty-first Century British and Irish Novelists

Victorian Lady Novelists: George Eliot, Mrs. Gaskell, the Bronte Sisters

Victorian Novelists After 1885

Victorian Novelists Before 1885