Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fiction and Novel Criticism

Print Indexes

Indexes provide bibliographic citations to articles in books, magazines, journals, and newspapers. A bibliographic citation consists of author, title of article, title of periodical, volume, page and date. Once you get the citation, check SouthernSearchto see if we have the publication that is cited in the index.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
This is the English counterpart of the MLA. It identifies books, pamphlets and periodical articles that contain literary information. Also available online through LION.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Includes biographical sketches that have been published in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Good place to start if nothing other than the person's name is known.

Biography index -- Index Section, Ground Floor 
Indexes biographical material in books and journals. Includes references to obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs and bibliographies.

Essay and General Literature Index -- Index Section, Ground Floor
This is an index to chapters in books and essays in collections. To find citations to criticism, look under the author's name.

Fiction Catalog
Covers a wide variety of fiction, with specific headings and sub-headings for persons, events, places, historical periods, lifestyles, legendary characters, genres, literary forms, and more. Includes author list, and title and subject index.

Humanities Index -- Index Section, Ground Floor
Index articles that appear in English language journals. Includes language, literature and literary criticism. Entries are by author and subject.

New York Times Index -- Index Section, Ground Floor
Indexes articles that appear in the New York Times. Book Reviews are arranged by title under the section "Book Reviews".

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature -- Index Section, Ground Floor
An index to general periodicals. There is a separate section for book reviews at the back of the index. Contains citations to critical essays on authors. Look under the author's name or the title of the book.