Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetry Criticism

Internet Resources

British Poetry 1780-1910: A Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions
A hypertext archive of scholarly editions from the Electronic Text Center

Electronic Poetry Center
"Makes available a wide range of resources centered on digital and contemporary formally innovative poetries, new media writing, and literary programming."

Famous Poets and Poems
FamousPoetsAndPoems.com is a free poetry site with a large collection of poems and quotes from over 631 poets.

HTI American Verse Project
The Humanities Text Initiative at the University of Michigan contains volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Internet Poetry Archive
Contains one of the biggest collection of poetry. "Each entry provides audio clips of the poet reading several poems, the poet's comments on the works, a photograph of the poet and any other graphics that would help a reader understand the poem (e.g., a map or illustration of a particular place mentioned in the poem), texts of the poems, a critical biography of the poet prepared by a scholar familiar with the poet's work, and a short bibliography."

Library of Congress Poetry Resources 
Compiled by Peter Armenti, Digital Reference Specialist, this is the "Best starting point for locating works by and about contemporary American poets." 

Online Resources - Poetry Foundation
"The Poetry Foundation houses a 30,000-volume poetry library,, an exhibition gallery, a performance space for the Foundation’s extensive roster of public events, the Poetry Foundation’s programming offices, including those of Poetry Magazine."

Poems and Poetry - Poets.org
An extensive collection of over 10,000 poems by occasion, theme, or form. Searchable by name of poet and by keyword.

Poets' Corner
"The collection covers roughly 7,000 works by about 800 poets - including some of the best known works in the English language."

Project Bartleby
The preeminent publisher of literature, reference and verse on the internet available free of charge.

Twentieth Century Poetry in English
Information on approximately 116 poets and links to many useful poetry resources.

Voice of the Shuttle
A comprehensive site on all aspects of literature including poetry.