Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Short Story Criticism

Basic Reference Books for Literature Research

The following multi-volume interrelated sets are excellent starting points for finding biographical or critical information about writers. All of the series is cross-indexed. Look up your author in the index section of the last volume of each set Next to the author's name there will be abbreviations of books in which information about the author can be found. These abbreviations are expanded in the front of each volume. Click on the title for catalog record including call number.

Children's Literature Review
Contains excerpts from criticisms, reviews and commentaries of books for children and young people.

Contemporary Authors (CA)
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, motion pictures, journalism and other fields. There is an annual paperback title index.

Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series -- (CAAS)
Provides autobiographies of important current writers. The index lists names, titles, subjects and schools of writing. All genres included.

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (CANR)
Provides updates on authors listed in Contemporary Authors. Use the latest CA cumulative index to locate individual author's listing.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who are now living or who have died since January 1, 1960. There is an annual paperbound title index and a cumulative index of authors and critics.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) -- Ref PN, PQ, PR and PS
Over a hundred volumes, each one dealing with a different topic. To locate a particular writer, check the author index in the latest volume. Check
our catalog to locate books in which the critical information may be found.

Literature Criticism from 1400 -1800 (LC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1400 and 1800. Has a cumulative index to authors. Includes all genres.

Literature Criticism Online
Online database of the following literary works: Contemporary literary criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Shakespearean criticism, Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and medieval literature criticism, Poetry criticism, Short story criticism, Drama criticism, Children's literature review.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC)
Contains excerpts from criticisms of authors who lived between 1800 and 1900.

Something About the Author (SATA)
Lives and works of authors and illustrators of children's books. Indexes in alternate odd numbered volumes beginning with Vol. 57. Has authors' index and illustrations index.

Something About the Author Autobiography Series
A collection of autobiographical essays written by prominent authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Each essay has a bibliography.

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Excerpts from criticisms of authors, playwrights, poets and other literary figures who died between 1900 and 1960.

Locating Stories in Collections

The following index shelved in the Reference section is useful in finding short stories that appear in collections. Check the catalog to see if SCSU has the book in which the story is published.

Short Story Index -- Ref Z5917. S5 C6
An index to 60,00o stories in collections. Has annual updates and a five year cumulative index.

Short Story Criticism

The first ten entries under this category are part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography Series published by Gale. Each volume deals with a specific time period or genre.

American Short Story Writers, 1880-1910 --Ref PS374. S5 A39

American Short Story Writers before 1880 --Ref PS374. S5 A38 (Print and Online)

American Short Story Writers, 1910-1945. First Series --Ref PS374. S5 A396

American Short Story Writers, Second Series --Ref PS374. S5 A3962

American Short Story Writers since World War II --Ref PS374. S5 A3964

American Short Story Writers Since World War II Third Series

American Short Story Writers Since World War II Fourth Series

American Short Story Writers since World War II Fifth Series --Ref PS374. S5 A3967

American Women Short Story Writers: A Collection of Critical Essays

British and Irish Short Fiction Writers, 1945-2000-- Ref PR829.B67

British Short Fiction Writers, 1800-1880 --Ref PR829. B72

British Short Fiction Writers, 1915-1945 -- Ref PR829. B746

British Short Fiction Writers, 1880-1914. The Realist Tradition

British Short Fiction Writers 1880-1914. The Romantic Tradition --Ref PR829. B744

Critical Survey of Short Fiction -- Ref PN3373. M24 7 vols. + supplements
Provides author biographies and analysis of their works. Authors arranged alphabetically.

The Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story -- Ref PS374.S5 F33

The Facts on File Companion to the British Short Story -- Ref PR829.F33

Masterplots II. Short Stories --Ref PN3326. M27 6 volumes
Arranged alphabetically by title, each includes a list of main characters, a synopsis of the story, themes and meanings of the story and comments on the style and techniques of the author.

Short Story Criticism -- Ref PN3373. S386 (ongoing series)
Criticisms of works of major short story writers of all eras and nationalities. There is a cumulative author index in each volume.

Short Story Writers --Ref PN3373. S398 3 volumes
A bio-bibliographical reference guide to short story writers. Includes index.

Short Story Writers and Short Stories--Ref PN3373.B57 2005

Twentieth Century Short Story Explication -- Ref Z917. S5 W33
Contains interpretations of short stories found in books and periodicals. Continued by the annual bibliography in each summer issue of the journal Studies in Short Fiction.

Twentieth Century Short Story Explication: New Series --Ref Z5917. S5 W33
Continuation of the old series.