Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Criticism

Print Indexes

Indexes

Indexes provide bibliographic citations to articles in books, magazines, journals, and newspapers. A bibliographic citation consists of author, title of article, title of periodical, volume, page and date. Once you get the citation, check SouthernSearch to see if we have the publication that is cited in the index.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Includes biographical sketches that have been published in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Good place to start if nothing other than the person's name is known.

Biography index
Indexes biographical material in books and journals. Includes references to obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs and bibliographies.

Film Literature Index -- Index Section, Second Floor
Author-Subject periodical index to the international literature of film.

Humanities Index -- Index Section, Second Floor
Index articles that appear in English language journals. Reviews of films appear under the heading "Moving Picture Reviews -- Single Works".

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature -- Index Section, Second Floor
An index to general interest periodicals. Articles on films are indexed under the heading "Motion Pictures". Reviews of individual films are indexed under the heading "Motion Picture Reviews - Single Works".

Social Sciences Index -- Index Section, Second Floor
This is an index to journal articles covering topics in the social sciences. Articles on films are found under the subject heading "Moving Pictures".