Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Resources on the Internet: A

Accommodation

Accommodation Search engine
Provides information on lodging establishments and accommodation web pages around the world.

Acronyms

Acronym Finder
Allows you to look up 122,500 acronyms, abbreviations and their meanings.
Acronym Server

Almanacs

Information Please Almanac 
Online version of the popular almanac which you can browse by topic or search. Also includes the Random House Webster's College Dictionary and the Columbia Encyclopedia.

Amazon

American Hospital Directory

American Hospital Directory
Free information to summary data for most hospitals. Subscription needed for more detailed information.

Amtrak

Amtrak
This is the home page of Amtrak where you will be able to find train schedules and fares, routes and special deals as well as information on services offered by Amtrak.

Annual Reports

Annual Report Service
Free annual reports from the Public Register's Annual Report Service. There are about 2210 reports and the number is continually growing. There is a useful guide to understanding financials as well as a list of the top 20 growth stocks.

Report Gallery
Online library of international and national financial reports, trading services, and other financial services.

Sec Filling and Financial Data
Has a search engine for SEC filings and financial data, analysis, and the ability to download this data into popular applications such as Excel.

Answering Services

Ask an Expert
Ask questions of experts on a variety of topics and receive valuable answers.

Ask Jeeves
Provides natural language question answering service for consumers and companies on the web by allowing users to ask questions in plain English and be directed to web sites containing the answer.

Google
An excellent search engine that can track down hard-to-find information.

Other Services

Area Codes

Area Code Lookup
Can look up area codes in U.S., Canada, and a few other countries.

Area and Country Codes
This is a powerful and useful web directory for finding the latest area code and country code information.

Area Code Lookup Service
The Area Decoder provides you with current information related to area, city, and country codes.

Associations and Organizations

Idealist
A site run by a non-profit foundation which has a searchable directory of 10,000 web sites of non-profit organizations, information on volunteering jobs, projects and some tools for non-profits or subjects like fundraising, financial management, personnel public relations, and legal issues.

Atlases

Information Please Atlas
http://www.infoplease.com/atlas//
Free online atlas. Click on country to get an enlarged map of the region.

Automobiles

Automobile Magazine
Automobile Magazine is an industry leading publication which includes in-depth new and used car reviews, and exclusive Ture Price buyers guide and a prestigious blog run by top Automobile editors and contriubtors. New and archived content from the magazine is available online.