Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Resources on the Internet: B

Bank Rates

Bankrate
This site provides information on bank rates, credit cards, loans and tax information.

Banned Books

Banned Books from ALA
Contains information on banned and challenged books, notable first amendment cases, and notable quotes.

Bartlett's Quotations

BBC News

BBC
News from the British Broadcasting Corporation is updated every minute.

Biography

Biography from A&E

Lives, the Biography Resource
Lives, the Biography Resource, is the largest guide to biography sites on the web. Includes reviews of sites linked. Not all sites have reviews. Sites will be reviewed as time permits.

Books Online

Bartleby Project - Great Books Online

Hathi Trust Digital Library

The Internet Classics Archive
Consists of works of classical literature in English translation by about 59 different authors. Includes commentary and "reader's choice" web sites.

The Internet Public Library Online Texts Collection
The IPL Online Texts Collection contains 10,000 titles that can be browsed by author, title or by Dewey Decimal Subject Classification.

Project Gutenberg
Contains full-text of many books published prior to 1923. Project Gutenberg does not contain books that are still under copyright.

Book Prices

AddAll Book Search and Price
Free service for book search and price comparisons. Allows you to compare book prices at over 40 bookstores.

Amazon

Book Prices
A free innovative service finding the best price on a purchase of several books together.

Chambal
Comparison ob book prices across major online booksellers.

Direct Textbook
Search over 30 online stores and libraries throughout the U.S. for textbooks.

Out-of-Print Books
Both these sites search a number of bookseller sites.

Britannica Online

Britannica Online
Free access to Encyclopedia Britannica.