Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Resources on the Internet: C

Calendars/Holidays

The calendar zone
Comprehensive categorized calendar site with calendar quotes.

Holidays Around the World
A collection of multimedia holiday celebrations around the world including the history of each holiday and related activities.

Careers

Careers from Yahoo

Monster
The site for career choices in all fields -- business, health care, legal profession, science, etc., and other helpful resources for learning more about a variety of career paths.

Cars - Prices and Reviews

Edmund's Car Prices
http://www.edmunds.com/
Provides auto pricing, reviews, consumer information, information about rebates and incentives, at no cost.

Kelly Blue book
http://www.kbb.com/
Provides free used car values, trade-in and retail values, reviews new models, new care prices, previews of new cars and coming attractions. You can also buy or sell a car online.

Nada Appraisal Guides
http://www.nadaguides.com/
America's leading source for used vehicle values. Free lemon check available. Includes values of travel, park and camping trailers, motorcycles, snowmobiles, personal watercraft, classic collectibles and special interest cars and trucks as well as a used care guide 1989-present.

Celebrities

http://www.celebhoo.com/
Includes all kinds of information and links regarding celebrities.

Census

The Bureau of the Census
http://www.census.gov/
The census collects data bout the people and economy of the US and produces a wide variety of statistical data publications.

CenStats
https://www.census.gov/data/data-tools/censtats.html
Consists of the following:
Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Building Permits, Census Tract Street Locator, USA Counties, International Trade Data, Occupations by Race and Sex, and Zip Business Patterns. This website contains information that is valid from January 31st, 2017 and prior. 

Chat Rooms

https://engage.liveperson.com/usage/messaging/
Contains chat rooms for personal and business use - fee based.

Clip Art

Library Clip Art
http://www.libraryclipart.com/
Contains freeware images that can be used for non-profit use.

Web Clip Art
http://www.clipartpanda.com/

Codes of Professional Ethics

Codes of Thics Online Collection
http://ethics.iit.edu/index1.php/Programs/Codes%20of%20Ethics
Contains codes of ethics for various organizations and associations.

Colleges

College Rankings
https://www.niche.com/colleges/rankings/
Contains links to many ranking services along with cautionary notes.

US News and World Report
http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/eduhome.htm

Directory of Colleges and Universities in the United States
http://www.collegescolleges.com/

Company Information

Edgar SEC Company Filings
http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
Foreign and Domestic company information from registration statements, periodic reports and other forms filed electronically through Edgar, the database of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Fortune 500 Companies
http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/fortune500/
Lists the Fortune 500 companies and provides snapshots of them.

Researching companies online
https://www.ibisworld.com/industry-trends/
IBIS World provides strategic insight and analysis on over 1,300 U.S. companies. On this website, you can find US Industry, State Industry, Global & International Industry, and Specialized Industry reports. May require a fee. 

Thomas' Register
http://www.thomasnet.com/
You can register for free access to searching company and product information, and easy access to online supplier catalogs and company

Computers

http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/
This site furnishes product reviews, price quotes, explanation of key terms and concepts the consumer should be aware of when making a purchase decision.

Congressional Resources

Congressional Research Service
http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo/
Provides CRS reports.

The United States House of Representatives
http://www.house.gov/

Connecticut

Connect - State of Connecticut Home Page

Connecticut State Library
This is the Connecticut State Library's web site which contains link to the Museum of Connecticut History.

Connecticut Town Profiles
You can search Connecticut Town Profiles, a compilation of current statistics describing the State of Connecticut, its towns, and selected administrative and planning regions.

Consumer Health

Center for Disease Control

Dept of health & human services
Consumer information on all kinds of health-related topics.

 

Consumer Health Resources on the Net
A good site for answering a wide range of health and medical questions. Also contains a resource guide for navigating the health care system.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports
Each week the site posts a handful of consumer advice features for free but there is a service charge for access to the product ratings and recommendations online.

Cost of Living Calculator

Cost of Living Calculator
Contains salary calculator, lifestyle optimizer, the moving calculator, relocation wizard, mortgages, etc.

Country Studies

Area Handbooks from Library of Congress
Sponsored by the Department of the Army, the site contains studies of 100 countries.

Background Notes
Contains information on geographical entities and international organizations. Notes for some countries are unavailable.

CIA World Factbook
Can search the 2001 edition of the World Factbook.

County and City Data Book

Census Data
This site contains official statistics for U.S. counties and cities with over 25,000 inhabitants. Contains data-sets and tables of population statistics for every state and it's cities located in the US. The information is taken from the 1994 County and City Data Book.

Crime

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data available on all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Uniform Crime Reports

Currency Converter

Currency Converter
This site offers interactive foreign exchange rate conversion.