Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Resources on the Internet: S

Science

Exploratorium
Exploratorium is an electronic museum of science, art and human perception for kids.

The Discovery Channel
Contains all kinds of interesting information including news, feature stories, expeditions, mind games, search guides, TV Guide, etc.

Shakespeare

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

Shakespeare Resource Center
Contains Shakespeare's works, synopses of plays, information on the Globe Theatre, reading list and other links.

Shopping

Pricewatch
Gives you the best shopping deals in U.S. and Canada - mainly electronic goods.

Speeches

American Rhetoric
Contains famous speeches broken down by time period.

The HistoryPlace
 

Sports

ESPN
Links to news and other information on every kind of sport.

Sporting News
Can search Sporting News from 1993 on.

States

Connect - State of Connecticut Home Page

Fifty States
Great site for everything about the states, including maps.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
This site contains selected statistics on the social and economic conditions in the United States and ranks state and metropolitan areas.

U.S. Census Bureau - State and County Quickfacts

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Resources on the Web - University of Michigan Documents Center
Contains statistics on agriculture, business and industry, cost of living, demographics, economics, education, finance, environment, foreign governments, trade, health, housing, labor, military, politics, science, transportation, sociology, weather and much more.

Stock Prices

Stock Price Histories
Contains historical stock information for many companies. You can type in a historical date and the stock symbol to view a quote and mini chart for that security.

Study Abroad

Study Abroad Directory
http://www.studyabroad.com/
Contains study abroad programs by country. Also includes maps, travel information and much more.

Study Abroad Site
http://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/college-resource-center/study-abroad/
Provides an in-depth look at what studying abroad is -- where to go, what to study -- as well as the financial factors to consider

Study Guides

Style Guides

Citation and Style Guides
http://library.concordia.ca/help/howto/citations.html

MLA Citation Style Guide
http://libguides.southernct.edu/mla

MLA Style Guide
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/
This style guide adapted from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers provides examples to document source materials when writing research papers.

 

Subject Guide to Internet Resources

Academic Information
http://www.academicinfo.net/index.html
This is a gateway to quality internet resources tailored to a college or advanced high school audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general interest sites in the field as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools.


Yahoo Directory
http://www.yahoo.com/

Symbols

Encyclopedia of Graphic Signs and Symbols
http://www.symbols.com