SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: CHE 101: Chemistry in Contemporary Issues: Air and the Atmosphere

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other "reference" materials are very important for finding facts and data, and for understanding vocabulary and background concepts. Books with call numbers are available in the library; books marked (Online) are available digitally by clicking the title link.

Encyclopedia of Air. Ref. QC854 .N48 2003 (2nd floor)
From composition to movement to pollution, this encyclopedia covers all the basics about air and the atmosphere. On the 2nd floor of the library.
World of Earth Science (Online)
This earth science encyclopedia includes topics like the ozone layer, atmospheric chemistry and pollution, and acid rain.
Environmental Encyclopedia (Online)
World-wide coverage of environmental science and issues.

Websites

NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA monitors and researches weather and the ocean. They are our major source for weather information, including hurricane and tornado prediction, and work in government programs about climate change.
NOAA Education Resources
Educational materials on climate, air, and sea. Lots of great images, diagrams, and explanations are linked from this page.
NASA's Earth Observatory
Amazing satellite images of the earth. See hurricanes, fires, eruptions, etc. from space, plus global maps of cloud cover, rainfall, snowfall, heat radiation, and more.

Articles and more

Atmosphere from "Science Resource Center"
Encyclopedia, magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, plus images and websites.
Ozone Depletion from "The Guide to Global Hazards"
This chapter is all about the ozone layer. (Click Next to go on to the following sections.)
Ozone Layer Chemistry from "The Oxford Companion to the Earth"
Ozone Layer from "The Oxford Companion to the Earth"

More Advanced Resources

Note the Source Type (books, magazines, scholarly journals, etc.) and subject terms on the left--click to limit your search. Full text and date options are on the right. Or modify your search in the search boxes at the top.

More databases:

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Chemical Engineering Chemistry Computer Science Earth Planetary Energy Materials Mathematics Physics Astronomy Agricultural Biological Biochemistry, Genetics Molecular Biology Environmental Immunology Microbiology Neuroscience Medicine Dentistry Nursing Health Professions Pharmacology, Toxicology Veterinary Arts Humanities Business, Management Accounting Decision Economics, Econometrics Finance Psychology Social Sciences anthropology archaeology
Search interface for journals and books from Elsevier, one of the world's premier publishers in science, technology, and medicine. We have a limited number of current journals in ScienceDirect (back to 1995), a few back files (up to 1995), and no books. Document Delivery may be available, contact the Reference Desk.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
bioscience research global warming stem cell research ecological biodiversity conservation biology botany ecology zoology paleobiology paleobotany entomology vertebrates invertebrates mammals birds animals plant vegetation insects arthropods ornithology natural nature freshwater marine fish ichthyology coastal paleontology shellfish wildlife naturalist science wetlands
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today۪s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.