Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Studies

Research guide for media studies: scholarly aticles and more about film, television, music, new media, and more.

Ad collections: Online

Ad Collections: Print

All of these titles are located on the 2nd floor.

  • All-American Ads 1900-1919: NC 998.5 .A11 2005
  • 20s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A12 2004
  • 30s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A647 2003
  • 40s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A135 2001
  • 50s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A155 2001
  • 60s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A165 2002
  • 70s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A15 2004
  • 80s: All-American Ads: NC 998.5 .A17 2005

These titles are located on the 3rd floor:

  • America's Greatest Brands: Oversize HD 69 .B7 A54 (3 volumes)
  • Advertising to the American Woman: Oversize HF 5813 .U5 H55 2002
  • Best of Retail Advertising Design: Oversize HF 5816 .B47 1988

Campaign ads

Museum of the Moving Image: The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2016

New Repbulic's 2016 Campaign Ad Archive

Political TV Ad Archive: 2016 political ads

Politifact: 10 most aired political ads, fact-checked: 2016 campaign

Time: Watch the 10 Most Notable Campaign Ads of 2016

New York Times Historical Archive 1851-5 years ago, and the New York Times 1980-present can display images from print campaigns. Go to Advanced Search to select Advertisement from Document type.

Google images and Youtube are also good places to search for images and video of campaign ads.

Consumer behavior & demographics: Online

  • Bureau of the Census: The mother lode of demographics: income, housing, age, ethnicity, marital status, etc. with many search options.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics: The sections on spending & time use, inflation & prices, and international data should be especially useful.
  • American Consumer Satisfaction Index: ACSI tracks satisfaction with 43 industries across 10 industry sectors. The raw scores are interesting, but use the quarterly commentaries for the analysis that explains and assesses what's happening.
  • City-Data: Copious statistics, with graphs and charts, on U.S. cities: photos, real estate, crime, demographics, schools, etc.
  • Connecticut Market Data: Sections include industry clusters, town profiles, and research data (much of it from the U.S. census) , provided by the CT Dept. of Economic & Community Development.
  • Consumer Behavior: The Psychology of Marketing: An introduction to conducting consumer research, key concepts, methods, and more.

Consumer behavior & demographics: Databases for articles

A search for "consumer behavior" (without the ""s) in the databases below retrieved thousands of articles from journals and magazines, book chapters, and other materials. You'll need to login with your network username and password to access databases from off-campus.

Company profiles

[Note: These databases work best for larger, public companies. For articles on smaller, private, or local businesses, try ABI/Inform Complete, or Regional Business News.]

Industry competitors & rankings

For off-campus access, login with your network username and password when prompted..

  • Business Source Premier (Ebsco): Use Advanced Search and select Industry Overview in the Document Type menu. The Datamonitor reports contain a short list of the top companies in the industry.
  • Mergent Online: Browsing by SIC or NAICS + a country will result in an alphabetical list of companies engaged in the industry. Select as many as you like and generate a comparison chart using criteria like revenue, advertising, net income, location, and ratios.

Industry data

Some of these resources require logging in with your network username and password from off-campus.