Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources for English and American Literature: E-books

English and American Literature Sources

 

theguardian.com

 

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
This is a collection of public domain and open access documents with a focus on English and American literature and western philosophy.

Bartleby
Provides full-text access to a variety of standard reference books, fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Bibliomania
This site has more than 2,000 classic texts, plus study guides and reference books.

A Celebration of Women Writers
The Celebration of Women Writers recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history and promotes awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing from all over the world.

Digital Book Index
Includes approximately 12,000 basic texts in English & American Literature, ranging from Chaucer & other medieval texts to modern, contemporary Fiction & Literature. This includes the most comprehensive, openly-accessible collection of 19th century American Literature available on the Internet, as well as extensive collections on Shakespeare (at least eight different editions -- modern, old-spelling, & photo facsimiles of the original Folios & Quartos, etc.); the American Renaissance (Transcendentalism); the Harlem Renaissance; 3000+ Short Stories, Diaries, Sagas, and Ballads; along with 2500+ volumes of Canadian, Australian, ancient Greek & Latin, French, Russian, German, Italian, Spanish, Scandinavian, Indian (limited), Chinese (limited), & Japanese (limited) literatures. There are 3000 volumes of Poetry and more than 3000 volumes by women writers.

Digital Public Library of America
Anyone can browse and directly download any of the more than 6,300 ebook titles available for free on DPLA's Open bookshelf which includes  novels, children's books, textbooks and non-English titles.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.

EpubBooks
You can register for free and access more than 400 ebooks all available as EPUB and Kindle MOBI books. All ebooks are provided without DRM protection and can be read on all the popular phones, tablets, and eReader devices, including Android, Apple (iPad, iPhone, macOS), Amazon Kindle, etc

Free e-books.net
Classic literature books available for free download.

The Free Library: Literature
The Free Library offers full-text versions of classic literary works from celebrated authors whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications has been included in the site.

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Great Books and Classics
Contains the old classics such as Epic of Gilgamesh, Aesop, Aristophanes, Plato, Upanishads, Ramayana, Mahabharata, Bhagavad Gita, Hammurabi, Sun-Tzu, etc.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering collections of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects. Over half of the content is in English but hundreds of languages are represented. Although all items are discoverable, viewing depends on the rights status of the individual item. Detailed statistics on subjects and languages represented in HathiTrust may be found
here.  

Illuminations: The Critical Theory Web Site
This site contains a collection of articles, excerpts, and chapters from many contemporary writers of and about critical theory.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive offers more than 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts.

Loyal Books
Contains free public domain audio books and e-book downloads.

OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. Materials nclude digitized books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts and more, from more than 1000 contributors worldwide.

OAPEN
OAPEN contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.

OATD - Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes form over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes  more than 4,000,000 theses and dissertations.

Online Books Page
Lists over 2 million free books online including prize-winning books and banned books.

Open Culture
A master list of 800 free classic eBooks for iPad, kindle, and other devices.

Planet Publish
Contains free e-books available in PDF format.

Project Gutenberg 
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. 

University of California Press E-Books collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics including art, literature, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the entire collection is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while more than 700 of the titles are available to the public.

Virtual Books: The British Library
The British Library's award-winning Turning the Pages site has many great masterpieces to choose from such as Jane Austen's early work, Leonardo da Vinci selection, Masterpieces of the Renaissance, Mozart's Musical Diary, and Handel's Messiah to name a few.