Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources for English and American Literature: Media

Media Resources

 

opensourceforu.com

American Memory Project
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress is a digital record of American history and creativity.

The Digital Bodleian Library
Over 650,000 digital objects (including maps, manuscripts, images, historical documents and records, etc.) are freely available and downloadable from the research libraries of Oxford University.

Digital Public Library of America
Contains a collection of images of objects of cultural heritage from archives, libraries, and museums across the country.

LibriVox
Offers a wide array of audiobooks in the public domain read by volunteers from around the world.

Life Photo Archive hosted by Google
Searchable photo archives of Life magazine from 1750 to the present. Many have not been published before.

Merlot II Multimedia Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
Developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning, Merlot II offers access to thousands of open resource materials that are searchable.

MIT Global Shakespeares Video and Performance Archive
Provides online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays from scholars in the field.

Modern Writers Archive Collection (BBC)
A collection of interviews with the most read authors of the twentieth century. The site is archived and no longer updated.

TED
Ted is a non-profit that spreads ideas in the form of short, powerful talks.

NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.

Open Culture
Has the best free cultural and educational resources on the web.

Wikimedia Commons
A free media repository that makes available public domain and freely licensed educational media content.