Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources for English and American Literature: Teaching and Learning Resources

Open Access Courses

 

oercommons.org

Academic Commons
The Academic Commons provides educators with a venue for exchanging ideas about the strategic integration of pedagogy and technology in liberal education.

CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)
This is an open access resource for faculty and librarians.

Invitation to World Literature (Merlot)
Merlot provides online learning support materials and content creation tools by international learners, researchers, and educators. This multimedia site from Annenberg Learning provides introductory videos, reading selections, slide shows, and various other resources (including audio glossaries and lists of reliable translations) to enrich the reading of thirteen works from various times and cultures. 

Mason OER Metafinder
Mason OER Metafinder searches well-known OER repositories like OpenStaxOER CommonsMERLOT but also sites like HathiTrustDPLAInternet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked yet often “open” educational materials may be found.  Given the many “standards” of metadata in the OER universe, they recommend that users check the rights of any item they use.

MIT Open Courseware
Access to undergraduate literature courses at MIT

Nothing in the Rulebook
World class literature courses for free.

OER Commons
OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement.

Open Culture
Access free literature courses online from some of the world's leading universities.

Open Learning at Harvard
Free courses from the Extension School at Harvard.

Open Pedagogy Notebook
Open Pedagogy is a site focusing on theories about teaching, learning, technology and social justice intersect and inform educational practices. Provides various assignment approaches in different disciplines.

Open Yale Courses
Provides lectures and other course materials from selected Yale courses.

Survey of American Literature II
Covers American literary works from the late nineteenth century to the present.

Open Textbooks

College Open Textbooks
College Open Textbooks’ mission is to increase adoptions of open and affordable textbooks and other open educational resources.

English Open Textbooks
This repository is an initiative of Galileo and the University System of Georgia to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation.

Open Education: English
Contains open, editable, and lower-cost textbooks and open teaching and learning resources for faculty, students, and librarians.

Open Stax
Open Stax is based in Rice University and  publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print. Can search by subject. Simple to adopt, easy to use.

Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

Open Textbooks from SUNY
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.