Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Literature

This is a guide to select print and online resources in American Literature

Books in Buley Library

Here are some reference books at Buley Library. These books cannot be checked out but you can find books in SouthernSearch that can be checked out.

 

 

 

   

 

 

    

 

 

    

 

 

Ethnic-American Literature

American Indian Literature

The Columbia guide to American Indian literatures of the United States since 1945

Encyclopedia of American Indian literature    

Native American literatures : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes     

Native North American literature : biographical and critical information on native writers and orators from the United States and Canada from historical times to the present  

 

African American Literature

Encyclopedia of African American literature

Encyclopedia of African-American writing : five centuries of contribution : trials & triumphs of writers, poets, publications and organizations 

Encyclopedia of hip hop literature

The encyclopedia of the Harlem literary renaissance

The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature

The Oxford companion to African American literature

Writing African American women: an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color 

 

Asian American Literature 

Asian American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook

The Columbia guide to Asian American Literature since 1945

The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature

Historical dictionary of Asian American literature and theatre

 

Hispanic American Literature

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature  

Encyclopedia of Hispanic American literature 

The Greenwood encyclopedia of Latino literature

Hispanic literature of the United States: a comprehensive reference

 

Jewish American Literature 

The Cambridge Companion to Jewish American literature

Encyclopedia of Jewish American literature    

Jewish American Literature since 1945: An introduction